Nobel Prize

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award.

Nobel Prize Winners


Steven Weinberg
Nobel Prize in Physics
Affiliation at the time of the award: Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA


Ilya Prigogine*
Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Affiliation at the time of the award: Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium, University of Texas, Austin, TX, USA


Hermann J. Muller*
Nobel Prize in Medicine and Physiology
Affiliation at the time of the award: Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, USA


* (deceased)

Visit the Nobel Prize Web site.