Searle Scholars Program

The Searle Scholars Program supports research of outstanding individuals who have recently begun their appointment at the assistant professor level, and whose appointment is their first tenure-track position at a participating academic or research instituion . Today, 155 institutions are invited to participate in the Program.

The Program was established at The Chicago Community Trust in 1980 and has been administered by Kinship Foundation since 1996. The Program is funded from the estates of Mr. and Mrs. John G. Searle. Mr. Searle was the grandson of the founder of the world-wide pharmaceutical company, G.D. Searle & Company. It was Mr. Searle's wish that certain funds be used to support "...research in medicine, chemistry, and the biological sciences."

Each year 15 new individuals are named Searle Scholars. Awards are currently set at $100,000 per year for three years. Since its inception, 512 Scholars have been named and over $111 million has been awarded.

Searle Scholars

Richard W. Aldrich (Neuroscience) - 1984

Eric V. Anslyn (Chemistry & Biochemistry) - 1991

Guangbin Dong (Chemistry) - 2013

Ila P. Fiete (Neuroscience) - 2010

Brent L. Iverson (Chemistry & Biochemistry) - 1991

Jason B. Shear (Chemistry & Biochemistry) - 1998

Wesley J. Thompson (Neurology, Section of) - 1981



Visit the Searle Scholars Program Web site.