Robert W. Hamilton Book Author Awards Program

The University of Texas at Austin


The University Co-operative Society


The 2016 Professor Robert W. Hamilton Book Author Awards

Grand Prize: $10,000
  Three Runner-up Prizes: $3,000 each

These awards will be made to faculty or staff members who, in the preceding calendar year, have published the best book-length publications as determined by a multi-disciplinary committee of scholars appointed by the Vice President for Research of The University of Texas at Austin.

Published works including scholarly monographs, creative works (e.g., novels and anthologies of poetry), exhibition catalogues, textbooks, and edited collections, published during the 2015 calendar year may be nominated. Current University of Texas at Austin faculty (tenured, tenure track, senior lecturers and lecturers), Code 1000, and staff are eligible to compete for these awards. UT students are not eligible for this program. Books must be published (copyright date) between January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2015.

Authors may nominate their publication(s) by submitting the following hard copies and electronic copies (both sets are required):

Hard copies:

  • Three copies of Nomination form
  • Three copies of the book
  • Three copies of current Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Three copies of brief bio
  • Three copies of book synopsis
  • Three copies of book reviews or other supporting documentation (if available)

Electronic copies:

  • Nomination form (PDF or Word)
  • Current CV (PDF or Word)
  • Brief bio (Word)
  • Book synopsis (one or two paragraphs in Word)
  • Book reviews or other supporting documentation
  • Book cover scan in PDF or JPG format, in color (unless the original art is B&W), file size: ≥500KB
  • Author’s headshot photograph in PDF or JPG format (file size: 8KB or larger; 2"x3" or larger in size).

The required hard copies of the nomination packet should be delivered to the Office of the Vice President for Research (FAC 426, Mail Code: G1400). The electronic portion of the nomination packet should be emailed to with the subject header "2016 Hamilton Book Award." Complete nomination packets (hard copies and electronic submissions) must reach the VP for Research by 5 p.m. on Monday, January 11, 2016.  No late entries can be accepted.

Authors must indicate whether or not their publication is a textbook. Supporting documents submitted may include copies of pre-publication reviews, any published book reviews and awards received. No updates or additional materials will be accepted after the deadline.

Authors of all nominated books will be honored at a formal banquet hosted by the University Co-operative Society in October 2016.

These awards are named in honor of Professor Robert W. Hamilton, the Minerva House Drysdale Regents Chair in Law at The University of Texas School of Law. Professor Hamilton is the former chairperson of the University Co-op’s board of directors. The Hamilton Book Author Awards program is underwritten by The University Co-operative Society.

For more information, please contact Liza Scarborough at or 512-471-2877.

Download nomination form for 2016 Hamilton Book Author Awards Program:
Nomination Form in Word or Nomination Form in PDF.