Limited Submission Programs (Awards)

Limited submission programs are those for which funding agencies restrict the number of nominations or proposals a university may submit for consideration for an award. The University of Texas at Austin, therefore, must internally screen all eligible and interested nominees to determine which will represent the university in the regional, national or international competitions.

Below is a list of limited submission programs in which UT currently competes. Included are deadlines for internal review and the final deadlines of the awarding agency. Researchers must contact their Dean’s or ORU Director’s office to ensure that deadlines at that level of review are met. Please note: This list is not exclusive nor exhaustive, since new programs are developed and existing programs change.

Documents required by the Vice President for Research Office (VPR) are listed for each internal competition. Potential nominees must ensure that they are aware of any additional requirements and eligibility guidelines of the awarding body beyond the VPR internal competition. In all cases, requirements for internal review will mirror the requirements of the awarding body to reduce duplication or extraneous paperwork. Unless stated otherwise, all required documentation should be submitted electronically (preferably as a .pdf) by the posted deadline.

Every effort will be made to maintain current and accurate information within this list; however, the awarding agency’s posted information remains the final authority.

Visit the Office of Sponsored Projects Web site for a list of limited submission programs. If a UT researcher intends to submit for a limited submission program not on this list, he/she must contact Courtney Frazier in the Office of Sponsored Projects to secure authorization to submit on behalf of The University of Texas at Austin.

For VPR-administered award, fellowship and grant programs, visit the Awards, Fellowships and Grants page.

All Programs Organized by Month of Deadline Date


Programs VPR Internal Deadline Funding Agency Deadline Nominee(s) Selected to Advance
Robert A. Welch Award in Chemistry 12/15/14 1/30/15  
Japan Prize 2/16/15 2/28/15  
Balzan Prizes 2/3/14 3/15/14 None
The Edith and Peter O'Donnell Awards: The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST) 4/4/14 4/30/14 Adela Ben-Yakar, Mechanical Engineering; Timothy Meckel, Geological Sciences; Hugh Smyth, Pharmacy; Peter Stone, Computer Science; Michael Webber, Mechanical Engineering.
King Faisal Foundation n/a 5/1/13 None
Japan Society for the Promotion of Science’s International Prize for Biology 5/1/14 5/16/14 None
SURA Distinguished Friend of Science Award   5/23/14 John Goodenough, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Raymond & Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics 5/12/14 6/15/14  
Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award 6/16/14 7/15/14 Steven R. Biegalski, Mechanical Engineering
Enrico Fermi Award 6/16/14 7/15/14 Mark Raizen, Physics
Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement 8/1/14 9/12/14 Prof. Eric Pianka, Integrative Biology
Hackerman Award in Chemical Research (Welch Foundation) 5/27/14 9/15/14 Christopher J. Ellison, Chemical Engineering
Tang Prize in Sustainable Development 8/19/13 9/30/13 Halil Berberoglu (Mechanical Engineering); Camille Parmesan (Integrative Biology)
ORAU Events Sponsorship Program Two calls will be issued until one successful application is received: 8/15 and 2/15 annually. UT may submit one application each fiscal year (Oct. 1 – Sept. 30). Lea Hildebrandt Ruiz, Department of Chemical Engineering, "Texas Air-Quality Researchers Meeting"
ORAU Travel Grants 8/15 and 2/15 annually n/a. Each ORAU Institution is limited to two requests within ORAU’s fiscal year (Oct. 1 – Sept. 30). Catherine Cubbin, School of Social Work; Mia Markey, Department of Biomedical Engineering
The Wolf Prizes 8/4/14 8/31/14 George Sudarshan, Department of Physics
ORAU Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates (Graduate Students in Medicine/Physiology) 10/20/14 10/24/14 Aaron Smith, Astronomy; Jeffrey Dick, Chemistry; Dylan Kipp, Chemical Engineering; Kyle Klavetter, Chemical Engineering; Tyler Mefford, Chemistry
Raymond & Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences 10/28/13 11/1/13 None
ORAU Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates (Graduate Students in Economics) 11/11/13 11/15/13 None
Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists 10/7/14 11/25/14 Neal Hall, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering; Mia Markey, Department of Biomedical Engineering; Lauren Webb, Department of Chemistry.
Beckman-Argyros Award in Vision Research 12/1/14 12/11/14  
SURA Distinguished Scientist Award 10/27/14 12/15/14

Hung-wen (Ben) Liu, College of Pharmacy.

Notable but Not Limited

National Medal of Science 2/3/14 5/1/14 Prof. George Sudarshan, Department of Physics
National Medal of Technology & Innovation   6/2/14  
NSF - Alan T. Waterman Award 9/4/12 10/31/12 Donglei Fan, Department of Mechanical Engineering; Andrea Alu, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
NSB’s Vannevar Bush Award 9/1/14 10/1/14 Nicholas Peppas, Department of Chemistry and Department of Biomedical Engineering

Other Limited Submission Opportunities

MSRI Summer Graduate Schools Contact Thomas Chen, Dept of Mathematics; 512-471-7180. 3/1/15  
U.S.-Israel Binational Science Foundation (BSF) Contact Elizabeth Korves, Office of Graduate Studies (OGS); 512-232-3603. 4/10/14  
NEH Summer Stipends Contact Elizabeth Korves, Office of Graduate Studies (OGS); 512-232-3603. 9/30/14  
Luce Scholars Program
Contact Elizabeth Korves, Office of Graduate Studies (OGS); 512-232-3603.
HHMI International Student Research Fellowships Contact Elizabeth Korves, Office of Graduate Studies (OGS); 512-232-3603.
Trudeau Scholars Contact Elizabeth Korves, Office of Graduate Studies (OGS); 512-232-3603. 11/28/14  
Beckman Scholars Program Contact Ruth Shear, College of Natural Sciences; 512-471-5755.