Skip to Main Content.
Human Subjects site of Office of Research Support link to UT home link to Office of Research Support

The Office of Research Support (ORS) does not administer or oversee HOP policy 5-2011 or training related to the policy. ORS administers HOP policy 7-1210, “Promoting Objectivity in Research by Managing, Reducing or Eliminating Financial Conflicts of Interest” so if you conduct research and have:

  1. Not submitted a Financial Interest Disclosure (FID), you will need to complete mandatory training and file a FID. Instructions for completing these requirements are located at
  2. Previously submitted a FID, you are not required to complete additional training nor re-disclose the same information to comply with the UTS 180/HOP 5-2011 policy requirements.   However, you may have other responsibilities under that policy.

HOP policy 5-2011 QUESTIONS? Contact the Provost’s Office or call Mike Kerker, Associate Vice Provost at (512) 471-2694.

Human Subjects Research Contacts

North Office Building

Send all correspondence to:

Office of Research Support

Wayne Patterson, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Research
Director, Office of Research Support

Lori Roalson, Ph.D.
Assistant Director
(512) 471-8608

Chan Kean
Senior IRB Program Coordinator
(512) 471-6733

Holly Tieu
Senior COI and IRB Program Coordinator
(512) 232-2044

Institutional Review Board Chair

James Wilson, Ph.D.
College of Pharmacy
(512) 471-6978

Human Research Participants Program Coordinators

If you don't know who the ORS Program Coordinator is for your research unit or department, please visit our Program Coordinator page.

Kristen Crabtree
(512) 471-6386

Julio Fonseca
(512) 232-0809

William Grant
(512) 471-6577

Meghan Hammock
(512) 232-2625

Physical Address:

Peter T. Flawn Academic Center (FAC)
Suite 426
2304 Whitis Ave, Stop A3200
Campus Mail Code: A3200

Mailing Address:

The University of Texas at Austin
Office of Research Support
P.O. Box 7426
Austin, TX 78713

Main Office Number:

Office Number: (512) 471-8871

Fax Number: (512) 471-8873