Skip to Main Content.
Human Subjects site of Office of Research Support link to UT home link to Office of Research Support

The Office of Research Support (ORS) does not administer or oversee HOP policy 5-2011 or training related to the policy. ORS administers HOP policy 7-1210, “Promoting Objectivity in Research by Managing, Reducing or Eliminating Financial Conflicts of Interest” so if you conduct research and have:

  1. Not submitted a Financial Interest Disclosure (FID), you will need to complete mandatory training and file a FID. Instructions for completing these requirements are located at http://www.utexas.edu/research/rsc/coi/training.html.
  2. Previously submitted a FID, you are not required to complete additional training nor re-disclose the same information to comply with the UTS 180/HOP 5-2011 policy requirements.   However, you may have other responsibilities under that policy.

HOP policy 5-2011 QUESTIONS? Contact the Provost’s Office evpp_coi@austin.utexas.edu or call Mike Kerker, Associate Vice Provost at (512) 471-2694.

IACUC Meeting Dates and Deadlines

shell detail

The goal of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) and the Office of Research Support (ORS) is to rapidly process protocols in an effort to provide faculty with the maximum amount of time possible to address Committee concerns and clarifications. In order to maintain an expeditious review process, proposed protocol modifications and annual renewal forms are no longer reviewed at Full Committee Reviews UNLESS one or more IACUC member(s) specifically requests to do so.

Any new or third-year resubmission must be reviewed at a convened meeting of the IACUC. All meetings usually begin at 12:00 PM and are held in FAC 328, unless otherwise noted.

Meetings are open to the public except for any posted executive session held in compliance with the Texas Open Meetings Act. Persons interested in a meeting and desiring communication or other special accommodations should contact the Office of Research Support at least five working days prior to the meeting.

IACUC Meeting Dates and Deadlines
Submission Deadline Scheduled IACUC Meeting Date
Friday, May 15, 2015 Monday, June 08, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015 Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015 Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015 Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015 Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015 Monday, November 9, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015 Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015 Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016 Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016 Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016 Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016 Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016 Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016 Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016 Monday, August 8, 2016

Submissions are due by 3:00 p.m. on the deadline date. Only complete protocols will be reviewed by the IACUC. Simply submitting a protocol by the deadline does not mean that the protocol is ready for Committee review. If your protocol is returned for any reason, you must resubmit the revised protocol by the deadline date to be considered at that month’s FCR.

If you wish for the Committee to discuss a specific item, you must request so via email (IACUC@austin.utexas.edu) by the meeting deadline date. Your request must include an itemized list and brief description of any agenda item you would like for the Committee to discuss. You must also attend the meeting in which your discussion item is discussed by the Committee.

IACUC Members Only

IACUC Members Handbook