Advising And Contact Information

Academic Advisors

BSW and MSSW students meet with academic advisors once each semester for technical advising on topics related to curriculum expectations throughout the program. During these advising meetings, course load, specific classes, choice of program of study, management of work-load, and other related topics are reviewed.

Students may meet with program Assistant Deans and concentration chairs with specific in-depth questions regarding the particular programs, program modifications based on individualized circumstances, and social work program fit.

Students should meet with field support staff and members of the Clinical Faculty with specific in-depth questions regarding field placements and the field education process.

BSW PROGRAM

Alexis George
Advisor
alexis.george@austin.utexas.edu
512/232-6058

Vicki Packheiser, LCSW
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Programs
vpackheiser@mail.utexas.edu
512/471-2364

MSSW PROGRAM

Marian Mahaffey, LMSW-AP
Advisor
marianmahaffey@mail.utexas.edu
512/471-2935

Jane Kretzschmar, LCSW
Assistant Dean for Master’s Programs
swjak@mail.utexas.edu
512/471-8209

Dr. Beth Pomeroy
Clinical Concentration Chair
bpomeroy@mail.utexas.edu
512/232-3405

Dr. Michael Lauderdale
Community and Administrative Leadership Concentration Chair
mll@mail.utexas.edu
512/471-9246

PH.D. PROGRAM

Sherry Melecki
Advisor
smelecki@mail.utexas.edu
512/471-3925

Dr. Cynthia Franklin
Assistant Dean for Doctoral Education
cfranklin@mail.utexas.edu
512/471-0533

FIELD EDUCATION

Monica Rosario
Field Education Associate
ssw-field@austin.utexas.edu
512/471-6207

Tanya Voss, LCSW
Assistant Dean for Field Education
tmvoss@mail.utexas.edu
512/471-0510

 


 

University of Texas Resources

The University’s Advising Web page

The Office of Graduate Studies