Events

Keep up to date with the latest events across the Division of Student Affairs right here.
 

Tuesday, September 1 – Wednesday, September 30

September is Recovery Month. The Center for Students (CSR) in Recovery (CSR) will be hosting or co-hosting events throughout the month.

Wednesday, September 2

RecSports Party on the Plaza, Gregory Gym Plaza, 10 a.m.–5 p.m. Free admission and open to the entire campus community. (a signature event of Longhorn Welcome)

Thursday, September 3

This is Men’s Work, A Conversation with Dr. Michael Messner on Men’s Work to End Violence. Liberal Arts Building (CLA) 1.302D. 3:30–6 p.m.

You Bring out the Asian American in Me, Texas Union Shirley Bird Perry Ballroom, 4 p.m.

Saturday, September 5

Watch party for the first football game, Texas vs. Notre Dame. Alumni Center, 6:30–9:30 p.m. (Signature event and kick-off for Longhorn Welcome)

Monday, September 7

Labor Day Holiday. Check with specific departments regarding staffing, programs, facilities and services.

RecSports facilities will operate under a reduced schedule during the Labor Day holiday.

Tuesday, September 8

Trivia Night, Student Activity Center (SAC) Ballroom, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, September 9

Division-wide Staff Meeting. Session One from 8:30–10 a.m. in the Student Activity Center Ballroom. Session Two from 2:30–4 p.m. in the Gregory Gym Games Room. Please coordinate with your supervisor to attend one of these two sessions. Light refreshments will be served 30 minutes prior to each start time.

Thursday, September 10

Friend Zone, SAC Ballroom, 6 p.m.

Saturday, September 12

Sober Tailgate hosted by CSR and University High School (a UT Charter school for high school students in recovery) for the UT vs Rice game. Across the street from Littlefield Fountain. 2007 University Avenue, 3–9 p.m.

Monday, September 14

Veteran-Centered Training for Academic Advisors, open to Division staff. Student Services Building (SSB) G1.310, 11:30 a.m.–1 p.m.

Wednesday, September 16

Celebracion de Independencias, SAC Ballroom, 7 p.m.

Thursday, September 17

Inauguration for President Gregory Fenves, Bass Concert Hall, 3 p.m. All students, staff and faculty invited.

Sunday, September 20

Whitaker Field, Kick Back Against Stigma: A Kickball Tournament for Suicide Prevention, 9:30 a.m.–2 p.m.

Monday, September 21 – Friday, September 25

Suicide Prevention Week, various times and locations across campus

Monday, September 21

Veteran-Centered Training for Academic Advisors, open to Division staff. SSB G1.310, 11:30 a.m.–1 p.m.

Saturday, September 26 – Sunday, September 27

Recovery Capital Conference: Conference bringing together people in recovery, their allies, and the professional community from all over Texas. Sept. 26 at the JJ Pickle Campus. Sept. 27 at the School of Social Work.

Monday, September 28

Veteran-Centered Training for Academic Advisors, open to Division staff. SSB G1.310, 11:30 a.m.–1 p.m.

Events

Tuesday, Sep. 1, 6 p.m. -7 p.m.:
Tuesday, Sep. 1, 7 p.m. -6 p.m.:
Tuesday, Sep. 1, 8 a.m. -8 p.m.:
Tuesday, Sep. 1, 6 p.m. -8 p.m.: