Our Student Affairs team members continue to be recognized locally and nationally, whether through news media or awards programs, for their innovative approaches and dedication to higher education. We are, after all, educators first -- whether we are counselors, nurses, advising one of our 1,100+ student organizations, organizing a sports club, or ensuring students have inspiring places to live, eat, gather, study and learn.

Press Release Section

Regents Fund Crisis Intervention Programs; After Hours Hotline

400 Volunteers to Help 7,300+ Students "Mooov-In" at UT Austin

University Names New Executive Director for University Unions

Tribal Elders to Bless New American Indians in Texas Learning Gallery at UT Austin

Awards and Honors section graphic.

Housing and Food Service received the Food Recovery Challenge Achievement Award from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for efforts to reduce food waste in a university setting.

Nutrition Services in Housing and Food Service earned a bronze award for their National Nutrition Month promotion at the 2014 National Association of College and University Food Services Conference. The promotion was also named one of the organization's most innovative wellness and nutrition programs.

Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Gage Paine became the first recipient of the Dr. V. Ray Cardozier Alumni Excellence Award. The award is bestowed by the UT Austin Higher Education Administration Program and honors a graduate from the program’s doctoral program who has recently demonstrated excellence in scholarly and professional work.

Tom Dison, Recreational Sports, was awarded the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association Foundation (NIRSA) Leadership Award for exceptional contributions and leadership.

Edna Domínguez, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, was appointed to a two-year term to the NASPA (Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education) Region III Board as the Student Affairs Development and External Relations Knowledge Community Representative.

Floyd Hoelting, Housing and Food Service, was selected by The American College Personnel Association (ACPA) Foundation as one of its 2013 Class of Diamond Honorees.

Tany Norwood is awarded the 2014 Arno Nowotny Medal. View a full list of Arno Nowotny Medal recipients.