skip to content
UT Austin
General Info 01-02


The University


Registration, Fees, and Deposits

Academic Policies and Procedures

Student Affairs

Libraries and Other Academic Resources

The Texas Exes







3.  Registration, Fees, and Deposits



Fees and Deposits

Policies governing the payment or refund of tuition, fees, and other charges are approved by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System and comply with applicable state statutes. Tuition and fees are subject to change by legislative or regental action and become effective on the date enacted. For clarification of any matter relating to payment or refund of charges, a student should contact the office or administrative unit that originated the charge or refund.

Financial responsibility. Students are expected to meet financial obligations to the University when they are due. Registration fees are payable at the time of registration, and students are not entitled to attend classes until their fees have been paid in full or in accordance with an approved installment plan. Other charges are due within ten days after the bill is issued by the University, or according to the payment instructions that may be printed on the bill. Failure to pay the amount owed by the due date may result in a bar against registration and withholding official transcripts and diplomas.

Payment of registration fees may be made by personal check, by electronic funds transfer, or charged to Mastercard or Visa for the exact amount due. Checks for larger amounts, the difference to be paid in cash to the student, cannot be accepted. All checks must be drawn on U S banks in U S dollars; collection charges resulting from checks drawn otherwise are charged to the student.

Returned checks. When a check or electronic payment, hereinafter referred to as a check, is returned to the University, a $25 service charge is assessed. The student has ten days from the date of the notice to make full payment by cash, cashier's check, or money order. Failure to comply will result in refusal by the University to accept future personal checks. If the returned check was for registration fees or bar clearance, the student's registration will be canceled.

A service charge of $25 and a late charge, if applicable, is assessed for all other returned checks. The University will not accept a check from an individual

  • who previously had a registration canceled because of a returned check;
  • who wrote a bad check to clear a bar;
  • who after writing a bad check was not responsive to requests for payment; or
  • who habitually writes bad checks, even though restitution is made promptly.

Once a student is barred from writing a personal check, the bar remains in place for a minimum of one year. After the year has passed, the student may submit an appeal to the Returned Check Section of the Office of Accounting to have the bar lifted.

Returned checks re-presentment policy. In the event that a check is returned unpaid for insufficient or uncollected funds, it may be re-presented electronically. In the ordinary course of business, the check will not be provided with the individual's bank statement, but a copy can be retrieved by contacting the Returned Check Section of the Office of Accounting.

Payment plans. Tuition and fees for the fall and spring semesters may be paid in full at the time of registration, or according to the following three-payment plan (not available after the twelfth class day of a long-session semester):

First payment. One-half the amount of tuition and required fees, plus the full amount of optional fees and, where applicable, international student health insurance, the general property deposit, and the late registration fee, due at the time of registration.

Second and third payments. Each payment equal to one-quarter of the originally billed tuition and fees plus adjustments for adds and drops, due prior to the sixth and eleventh weeks of classes.

A nonrefundable $8 service charge is assessed students who use the three-payment plan. If payments are not made by each due date, a late fee of $10 is added to the amount due.

Registration is subject to cancellation if 50% of tuition and incidental fees for all courses is not paid by the twentieth class day (fifteenth class day for the summer session).

A student who withdraws from the University after the first four weeks of class is responsible for the full amount of tuition and fees and must continue to make installment payments as scheduled. A student who fails to provide full payment of tuition and fees, including late fees assessed, to the University when the payments are due is subject to one or more of the following actions at the University's option:

  • bar against readmission to the institution
  • withholding of grades, degree, and official transcript
  • all penalties and actions authorized by law

Financial aid recipients must apply any aid received to the unpaid balance of tuition and fees at the time the aid check is released.

Specific information about paying tuition and fees is available in each semester's Course Schedule.

Admissions application processing fee. A nonrefundable fee of $50 is required of undergraduate applicants for admission to the University. Applicants to the Graduate School must also pay a fee of $50, and applicants to the School of Law must pay $65. The fee for applicants to the Master of Business Administration program in the Red McCombs School of Business is $125. The fee for applicants to the Master in Professional Accounting program (including students in the Professional Program in Accounting) is $80. An applicant who presents academic credentials from any country other than the United States when applying for admission to any program of study except the Master in Professional Accounting program (including the Professional Program in Accounting) must pay a nonrefundable fee of $75; international applicants to the MPA and PPA programs must submit a fee of $100. In cases where the applicant is subject to more than one fee simultaneously, only the higher fee is required. Students who apply to the professional program in pharmacy must pay a nonrefundable application processing fee of $75; students who apply to the TxPharm program must pay a nonrefundable fee of $150. Students who apply to the upper-division professional sequence in nursing must pay a nonrefundable fee of $50.

Top of File     

Chapter Three


Contents |  Next File |  Previous File

General Information Catalog
Chapter 1 - The University
Chapter 2 - Admission
Chapter 3 - Registration, Fees, and Deposits
Chapter 4 - Academic Policies and Procedures
Chapter 5 - Student Affairs
Chapter 6 - Libraries and Other Academic Resources
Chapter 7 - Ex-Students' Association
Statistical Summaries

Related Information
Course Schedules
Academic Calendars
Office of Admissions

Office of the Registrar
University of Texas at Austin

26 July 2001. Registrar's Web Team
Send comments to