6. Libraries and Other Academic Resources
Library Services and Policies
Interlibrary Services (ILS). Interlibrary Service obtains materials not owned by the General Libraries for University of Texas at Austin students, faculty, and staff members. Users may submit interlibrary loan requests to ILS in PCL 1.343 or initiate requests through UT Library Online.
Library hours. Library hours for all units are posted in each unit and on UT Library Online. Most circulation desks close fifteen minutes before the library closes. Library hours may vary from the normal schedule during holidays, spring break, and the period between semesters.
Lending rules. To assure the availability of its resources, units of the General Libraries lend materials for a specific period and charge fines for items not returned when they are due. Every borrower must present a valid University of Texas student, faculty, or staff identification card, or a special, courtesy, or proxy borrower card. Borrowers are responsible for maintaining correct records of their identification numbers and mailing addresses with the University, and for obtaining corrected borrower cards in case of error or changed data.
Material is due on the date/time indicated on the date-due slip or recall notice, or as stated or shown at the time of checkout or renewal. Borrowers are responsible for material checked out to them until it is returned to an appropriate location. Restrictions are posted at individual book returns. Return receipts are issued on request. The General Libraries is not responsible for notifying borrowers that materials are overdue.
Loan periods. All materials are available for library use and most are available for home use. Some items are restricted to short-term loan periods from two hours to seven days. General collection loan periods include fourteen days, twenty-eight days, and one semester. Items that have been checked out for a loan period of at least fourteen days and that are not in demand may be renewed at most library circulation desks, or online through UTNetCAT.
A borrower may place a recall request online through UTNetCAT or may request that the library recall an item that has been checked out to another borrower for at least fourteen days. Recall requests may be made at any time, but recalled items are not due during intersessions, official University holidays, or spring break. Recalled items are due on the date specified on the notice, or immediately if required for reserve use. Failure to return a recalled item may result in suspension of borrowing privileges. When a recalled item is returned, the requester is notified and the item is held for seven days.
Schedule of fines. Borrowers are subject to the following fines for failing to return library materials on or before the date due:
Two-hour or overnight items: $1 an hour or fraction of an hour for each item; $30 an item, maximum, per transaction.
Two-hour or overnight items (on reserve): $3 an hour or fraction of an hour for each item; $36 an item, maximum, per transaction.
Three-day and library-use items: $4 a day or fraction of a day for each item; $30 an item, maximum, per transaction.
Three-day and library-use items (on reserve): $6 a day or fraction of a day for each item; $36 an item, maximum, per transaction.
Seven-day items: $1 a day or fraction of a day for each item; $30 an item, maximum.
Fourteen-day, twenty-eight-day, and semester loan items: Sixty cents a day or fraction of a day for each item; $30 an item, maximum, per transaction.
Semester loan items: Sixty cents a day or fraction of a day for each item; $30 an item maximum, per transaction.
Recalled items: $6 a day or fraction of a day beginning the day after the recall due date; $36 an item, maximum, even if the item is overdue when recalled.
Fines are assessed for each day the library is open.
Charges for loss and damage. Borrowers will be charged for lost and damaged items as follows:
Lost items:Cost of replacement.
Processing fee:Borrowers are subject to a $25 fee any time an item is reported lost or is presumed by the library to be lost. An item is presumed lost when the maximum fine has accumulated or if the item is not returned or renewed within twenty-one days after the first class day of the following semester.
Fines:The amount accumulated through the time the item was reported lost or presumed lost.
Rebinding or repair charge:$25. If the item is not repairable, the cost of replacement is assessed.
Library cards for non-University borrowers. The University's libraries are open to the public for library use of materials. Adult Texas residents who are not members of the University community may borrow materials for home use by purchasing a Courtesy Borrower Card at the Perry-Castaneda Library Courtesy Borrower Services Desk. A photo ID and proof of Texas residency are required at the time of purchase. Outstanding library charges must be paid before a courtesy card will be issued. The fee is waived for current members of the Ex-Students' Association, for users who present valid TexShare cards from libraries participating in the TexShare Card Program, and for other users included in reciprocal borrowing agreements in which the General Libraries participates. Cards are valid for the period of enrollment, membership, or appointment, not to exceed one year. A card may be renewed on the same basis as originally issued or according to other requirements as noted.
Courtesy borrowers are assessed fines and fees for late, lost, and damaged materials at the same rate as students. Unpaid charges may result in suspension of borrowing privileges.
|Top of File|
19 August 2002. Registrar's Web Team
Send comments to Official Publications