skip to content
UT Austin
General Info 03-04

Table of Contents

1. The University

2. Admission

3. Registration, Fees, and Deposits

4. Academic Policies and Procedures

5. Student Affairs

6. Libraries and Other Academic Resources

7. The Texas Exes

A. Residency Regulations

B. Official Extracurricular Student Activities

C. Institutional Rules on Student Services and Activities

D. Policy on Sex Discrimination and Sexual Harassment

E. Policy on Sexual Misconduct

F. Prohibition of Hazing

G. Policy on AIDS and HIV Infection

H. Prohibition of Sexual Assault

I. Nondiscrimination Policy

J. Prohibition of Campus Violence

K. Student Travel Policy for University-Organized or Sponsored Events

L. Student Travel Policy for Registered Student Organizations

Statistical Summaries



Officers of Administration


The University of Texas at Austin

Executive Officers

Larry R. Faulkner, PhD

Sheldon Ekland-Olson, PhD
Executive Vice President and Provost

James L. Hill
Vice President for Community and School Relations

Patricia L. Clubb, PhD
Vice President for Employee and Campus Services

Kevin P. Hegarty, MPA, CPA
Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Victoria E. Rodriguez, PhD
Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies

Daniel A. Updegrove, BS
Vice President for Information Technology

Patricia C. Ohlendorf, JD
Vice President for Institutional Relations and Legal Affairs

Donald A. Hale, BS
Vice President for Public Affairs

Juan M. Sanchez, PhD
Vice President for Research

Johnnie D. Ray, BA
Vice President for Resource Development

James W. Vick, PhD
Vice President for Student Affairs

William S. Livingston, PhD
Senior Vice President

Stephen A. Monti, PhD
Executive Vice Provost

Lucia A. Gilbert, PhD
Vice Provost

William F. Lasher, PhD
Vice Provost

Charles A. Roeckle, PhD
Deputy to the President

Nancy J. McCowen
Executive Assistant to the President

Susan W. Clagett, MA
Associate Vice President for Public Affairs

Administrative Officers of the Colleges and Schools

Frederick R. Steiner, PhD
Dean, School of Architecture

George W. Gau, PhD
Dean, Red McCombs School of Business

Ellen A. Wartella, PhD
Dean, College of Communication

Thomas M. Hatfield, PhD
Dean, Division of Continuing and Extended Education

Manuel J. Justiz, PhD
Dean, College of Education

Ben G. Streetman, PhD, PE
Dean, College of Engineering

Robert Freeman, PhD
Dean, College of Fine Arts

Andrew P. Dillon, PhD
Dean, School of Information

William C. Powers Jr., JD
Dean, School of Law

Richard W. Lariviere, PhD
Dean, College of Liberal Arts

Mary Ann Rankin, PhD
Dean, College of Natural Sciences

Dolores Sands, PhD, RN
Dean, School of Nursing

Steven W. Leslie, PhD
Dean, College of Pharmacy

Edwin Dorn, PhD
Dean, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs

Barbara W. White, PhD
Dean, School of Social Work

The University of Texas System

Executive Officers

Mark G. Yudof, LLB

Teresa A. Sullivan, PhD
Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Kerry L. Kennedy, BBA, CPA
Executive Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs

James C. Guckian, MD
Acting Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs

Tonya Moten Brown, JD
Vice Chancellor for Administration

John De La Garza Jr., BA
Vice Chancellor for Community Relations

Francie A. Frederick, JD
Counsel and Secretary to the Board of Regents

Cullen M. Godfrey, LLB
Vice Chancellor and General Counsel

Michael D. McKinney, MD
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs

Shirley Bird Perry, MA
Vice Chancellor for Development and External Relations

Edwin R. Sharpe Jr., PhD
Vice Chancellor for Educational System Alignment

William H. Shute, JD
Vice Chancellor for Federal Relations

E. Ashley Smith, LLM
Vice Chancellor for Governmental Relations and Policy


Top of File      General Information


Table of Contents
Chapter 1 - The University
Chapter 2 - Admission
Chapter 3 - Registration, Fees, and Deposits
Chapter 4 - Academic Policies and Procedures
Chapter 5 - Student Affairs
Chapter 6 - Libraries and Other Academic Resources
Chapter 7 - The Texas Exes
Appendix A - Residency Regulations
Appendix B - Official Extracurricular Student Activities
Appendix C - Institutional Rules on Student Services and Activities
Appendix D - Policy on Sex Discrimination and Sexual Harassment
Appendix E - Policy on Sexual Misconduct
Appendix F - Prohibition of Hazing
Appendix G - Policy on AIDS and HIV Infection
Appendix H - Prohibition of Sexual Assault
Appendix I - Nondiscrimination Policy
Appendix J - Prohibition of Campus Violence
Appendix K - Student Travel Policy for University-Organized or Sponsored Events
Appendix L - Student Travel Policy for Registered Student Organizations
Statistical Summaries

Related Information
Course Schedules
Academic Calendars
Office of Admissions

Office of the Registrar
University of Texas at Austin

12 August 2003. Office of the Registrar

Send comments to Official Publications