The University Office of the Registrar University of Texas at Austin
Official Publications Admissions Current Students UT EID
General Information | 2006-2007 page 1 of 4 in Chapter 1
« prev | next »

1. The University

Statement on Equal Educational Opportunity

The University of Texas at Austin is committed to an educational and working environment that provides equal opportunity to all members of the University community. In accordance with federal and state law, the University prohibits unlawful discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, gender, age, disability, citizenship, and veteran status. Discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation is also prohibited pursuant to University policy.

to top »

Title IX/ADA/504 Coordinators

Federal law prohibits discrimination on the basis of gender (Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972) and disability (Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990). The University has designated the following persons as Coordinators to monitor compliance with these statutes and to resolve complaints of discrimination based on gender or disability.

Disability (Section 504/ADA)

For students and employees: Linda Millstone, Deputy to the Vice President for Employee and Campus Services and Director of Equal Opportunity Services, NOA 4.302 (101 East 27th Street), (512) 471-1849

Gender (Title IX)

For students: Soncia Reagins-Lilly, Senior Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, SSB 4.104 (100-B West Dean Keeton Street), (512) 471-1201

For employees: Linda Millstone, Deputy to the Vice President for Employee and Campus Services and Director of Equal Opportunity Services, NOA 4.302 (101 East 27th Street), (512) 471-1849

to top »


The University of Texas at Austin is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award bachelor's, master's, first-professional and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097 or call (404) 679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of the University of Texas at Austin.


The University is a member of the Association of American Universities and the Oak Ridge Associated Universities, among others.

to top »


The mission of the University is to achieve excellence in the interrelated areas of undergraduate education, graduate education, research, and public service. The University provides superior and comprehensive educational opportunities at the baccalaureate through doctoral and special professional educational levels. The University contributes to the advancement of society through research, creative activity, scholarly inquiry, and the development of new knowledge. The University preserves and promotes the arts, benefits the state's economy, serves the citizens through public programs, and provides other public service.

to top »

Honor Code

The core values of the University of Texas at Austin are learning, discovery, freedom, leadership, individual opportunity, and responsibility. Each member of the University is expected to uphold these values through integrity, honesty, trust, fairness, and respect toward peers and community.

to top »

Organization of the University's Academic Units

Through the following academic units, the University offers close to three hundred undergraduate, graduate, and professional degree programs.

School of Architecture

Red McCombs School of Business
Department of Accounting
Department of Finance
Department of Management
Department of Information, Risk, and Operations Management
Department of Marketing

College of Communication
Department of Advertising
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Department of Communication Studies
School of Journalism
Department of Radio-Television-Film

College of Education
Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Department of Educational Administration
Department of Educational Psychology
Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
Department of Special Education

College of Engineering
Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Department of Chemical Engineering
Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering

College of Fine Arts
Department of Art and Art History
School of Music
Department of Theatre and Dance

Graduate School

School of Information

John A. and Katherine G. Jackson School of Geosciences
Department of Geological Sciences

School of Law

College of Liberal Arts
Center for African and African American Studies
Department of Air Force Science
Department of American Studies
Department of Anthropology
Center for Asian American Studies
Department of Asian Studies
Department of Classics
Américo Paredes Center for Cultural Studies
Department of Economics
Department of English
Center for European Studies
Department of French and Italian
Department of Geography and the Environment
Department of Germanic Studies
Department of Government
Department of History
Humanities Program
Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies
Department of Linguistics
Center for Mexican American Studies
Department of Middle Eastern Studies
Department of Military Science
Department of Naval Science
Department of Philosophy
Plan II Honors Program
Department of Psychology
Division of Rhetoric and Writing
Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies
Department of Slavic and Eurasian Studies
Department of Sociology
Department of Spanish and Portuguese
Center for Women's and Gender Studies

College of Natural Sciences
Department of Astronomy
School of Biological Sciences
    Integrative Biology Section
    Molecular Cell and Developmental Biology Section
    Molecular Genetics and Microbiology Section
    Neurobiology Section
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Department of Computer Sciences
Department of Human Ecology
Department of Marine Science
Department of Mathematics
Department of Physics

School of Nursing

College of Pharmacy

Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs

School of Social Work

to top »
General Information | 2006-2007 page 1 of 4 in Chapter 1
« prev | next »
The University Office of the Registrar University of Texas at Austin copyright 2006
Official Publications 15 Aug 2006