Registration, fees, and deposits Office of the Registrar University of Texas at Austin
Official Publications Admissions Current Students UT EID
General Information | 2006-2007 page 2 of 7 in Chapter 3
« prev | next »

Fees and Deposits

Policies governing the payment or refund of tuition, fees, and other charges are approved by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System and comply with applicable state statutes. Tuition and fees are subject to change by legislative or regental action and become effective on the date enacted. For clarification of any matter relating to payment or refund of charges, a student should contact the office or administrative unit that originated the charge or refund.

Financial Responsibility

Students are expected to meet financial obligations to the University when they are due. Registration fees are due on the date given in the academic calendar, and students are not entitled to attend classes until their fees have been paid in full or in accordance with an approved installment plan. Failure to comply with tuition payment deadlines may result in the cancellation of registration. Other charges are due within ten days after the bill is issued by the University, or according to any payment instructions on the bill. If the student does not pay the amount owed by the due date, the University may bar the student from registration and may withhold official transcripts and diplomas.

Payment of registration fees, for the exact amount due, may be made by personal check, by electronic funds transfer, or by credit card. Payments for larger amounts, the difference to be paid in cash to the student, cannot be accepted. All checks must be drawn on United States banks in United States dollars; collection charges that result from checks drawn otherwise are charged to the student.

to top »

Returned Checks

When a check or electronic payment, hereinafter referred to as a check, is returned to the University, a $25 service charge is assessed. The student has ten days from the date of the notice to make full payment by cash, credit card, cashier's check, or money order. Failure to comply will result in refusal by the University to accept future personal checks. If the returned check was for registration fees or to clear a registration bar, the student's registration will be canceled; a service charge of $25 and a late charge, if applicable, are assessed for all other returned checks.

The University will not accept a check from an individual who previously had a registration canceled because of a returned check; who wrote a bad check to clear a bar; who, after writing a bad check, was not responsive to requests for payment; or who habitually writes bad checks, even though restitution is made promptly. Once a student is barred from writing a personal check, the bar remains in place for at least one year. After the year has passed, the student may submit an appeal to the Returned Check Section of the Office of Accounting to have the bar lifted.

to top »

Payment Plans

Tuition and fees for the fall and spring semesters may be paid in full or according to the following three-payment plan. The student must choose the three-payment option and make the first payment by the date given in the academic calendar. A nonrefundable $8 service charge is required. If subsequent payments are not made on time, a late fee of $10 is added to the amount due.

First payment: One-half the amount of tuition and required fees, plus the full amount of optional fees and, where applicable, international student health insurance, the general property deposit, and the late registration fee. The first payment is due by the date given in the academic calendar.

Add/drop transactions may increase the total amount the student owes after the first payment has been made. In this case, payment for added classes is due by the date given in the academic calendar. The student's registration is subject to cancellation if 50 percent of tuition and incidental fees for all courses is not paid by the twentieth class day in the fall and spring or by the fifteenth class day in the summer.

Second and third payments: Each payment equal to one-quarter of the originally billed tuition and fees, with adjustments for adds and drops. The second payment is due prior to the sixth week of classes; the third, prior to the eleventh week. Payment deadlines are given in the academic calendar.

A student who withdraws from the University after the first four weeks of class is responsible for the full amount of tuition and fees and must continue to make installment payments as scheduled. A student who fails to make full payment on time, including any late fees, is subject to one or more of the following actions, at the University's option: (1) bar against readmission to the institution; (2) withholding of grades, degree, and official transcript; (3) all penalties and actions authorized by law.

Financial aid recipients must apply any aid received to the unpaid balance of tuition and fees at the time the aid check is released.

Specific information about paying tuition and fees is available in each semester's Course Schedule.

to top »

Admission Application Processing Fees

A nonrefundable fee of $60 is required of undergraduate applicants for admission to the University. Applicants to the Graduate School must pay a fee of $50, and applicants to the School of Law must pay $70. The fee for applicants to the Master of Business Administration program is $125. The fee for applicants to the Master in Professional Accounting (MPA) program, including students in the Professional Program in Accounting (PPA), is $80. An applicant who presents academic credentials from any country other than the United States when applying for admission to any program of study except the MPA program and the PPA must pay a nonrefundable fee of $75; international applicants to the MPA program and the PPA must submit a fee of $100. In cases where the applicant is subject to more than one fee simultaneously, only the higher fee is required.

Applicants to the professional curriculum in pharmacy must pay a nonrefundable application processing fee of $75; applicants to the TxPharm program must pay a nonrefundable fee of $150. Applicants to the professional sequence in nursing must pay a nonrefundable fee of $50.

to top »

Flat Rate Tuition for Undergraduates

The flat rate tuition for each college covers the student's academic program costs, including tuition, mandatory fees and charges, and college and course incidental fees. It does not include the general property deposit, the international student health insurance program fee, the international student services fee, the international student orientation fee, or fees for extended field trips that require students to live off campus.

The flat rates are based on the average per-hour charges for tuition and fees previously paid by students in each college. Because fees previously varied, flat rate tuition varies by college. There is no restriction on the number of hours a full-time student may take when registered at the full-time rate, as long as the student complies with the quantity of work rule.

Students who pursue simultaneous majors in more than one college are charged the higher of the two colleges' rates.

Flat rate tuition for each college for fall 2006 and spring 2007 is given in table 1, Flat Rate Tuition for Undergraduates. After selecting classes for a future semester, the student may view his or her tuition and fee bill at the Student Accounts Receivable Web site. Flat rate tuition for summer 2007 will be published on the same site.

to top »

Tuition for Graduate and Professional Students

For graduate and professional students, the cost of a semester's enrollment consists of tuition, which varies by discipline; required fees; optional fees chosen by the student; program and service related fees; course related fees; and special registration fees, if applicable. Total tuition and required fees for fall 2006 and spring 2007 are given in table 2, Tuition and Required Fees, Fall 2006 and Spring 2007. Course related fees are listed in the Course Schedule; the remaining fees are described later in this chapter. After selecting classes for a future semester, the student may view his or her tuition and fee bill online. Tuition and required fees for summer 2007 will be published by Student Accounts Receivable.

to top »

Nonresident Tuition for Resident Students

Because the University is a state-assisted institution, tuition rates are lower for Texas-resident students than for nonresidents, including both out-of-state and international students. Rules affecting residency are given in chapter 2. In the following circumstances, a student who is classified as a Texas resident may be charged nonresident tuition.

Undergraduates. State law allows colleges and universities to charge a Texas-resident undergraduate the nonresident tuition rate if the student has attempted an excessive number of hours beyond the number required for his or her degree. In addition, a higher tuition rate may be charged if a student enrolls again in a course he or she has completed. Information about charges for excessive undergraduate hours is published by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

As of the academic year 2006-2007, the University does not charge undergraduates additional tuition for an excessive number of hours or for repeated courses.

Graduate students. A student who has earned more than ninety-nine semester hours of credit at the doctoral level is subject to the nonresident tuition rate, even if the student is a Texas resident or holds an appointment that would normally entitle the holder to pay resident tuition. This policy, sometimes called the ninety-nine-hour rule, is authorized by section 54.012 of the Texas Education Code [formerly section 54.066]. More information about charges for excessive graduate coursework is available online and from the Office of Graduate Studies at (512) 471-4511.

to top »
General Information | 2006-2007 page 2 of 7 in Chapter 3
« prev | next »
Registration, fees, and deposits Office of the Registrar University of Texas at Austin copyright 2006
Official Publications 15 Aug 2006