skip to content
UT Austin
Grad Catalog 03-05


Graduate Study

Admission and


of Study

Members of
Graduate Studies





Degrees Offered
Master of Arts
Doctor of Philosophy

Facilities for Graduate Work

The Institute for Neuroscience offers excellent opportunities for multidisciplinary study in the neurosciences at both graduate and postdoctoral levels. Facilities include those maintained by the participating programs in the Colleges of Pharmacy, Liberal Arts, Natural Sciences, Engineering, Education, and Communication. Training grants and federal and state grants to investigators in the institute provide stipends and support research. Faculty members throughout the institute participate in interdisciplinary seminars and a year-long, broadly based neuroscience course. The goal of the institute is to train students to employ multidisciplinary approaches in their careers in neuroscience research and teaching. Toward this end, the faculty seeks to provide a diverse, cohesive, and interactive atmosphere and a flexible curriculum that meets the needs of each individual.

Areas of Study

Neuroscience encompasses behavioral neuroscience, neurobiology, neuropharmacology, and cellular/molecular neuroscience. Studies in these areas are centered primarily in the graduate programs in psychology; pharmacy (medicinal chemistry and pharmacology); cellular and molecular biology; ecology, evolution, and behavior; biomedical engineering; kinesiology and health education; microbiology; biochemistry; linguistics; and communication sciences and disorders.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee in the spring semester 2002-2003.

Creed W. Abell
Lawrence D. Abraham
Seema Agarwala
Duane G. Albrecht
Adriana A. Alcantara
Karen Artzt
Nigel S. Atkinson
Ronald E. Barr
Susan Bergeson
George D. Bittner
Creagh Breuner
Craig A. Champlin
Lawrence K. Cormack
David P. Crews
Yvon Delville
Michael P. Domjan
Christine Duvauchelle
Carlton K. Erickson
Roger P. Farrar
Benito Fernandez
Wilson S. Geisler III
Nace Golding
Rueben A. Gonzales
Francisco Gonzalez-Lima
Andrea Gore
Paul D. Gottlieb
Adron Harris
Jody Jensen
Theresa Jones
     Robert A. Josephs
Steven W. Leslie
Tom J. Mabry
Peter F. MacNeilage
W. Todd Maddox
Dennis McFadden
Cindy May Meston
John Mihic
Risto P. Miikkulainen
Hitoshi Morikawa
Richard A. Morrisett
Martin Poenie
George D. Pollak
Mark G. Raizen
Mendell Rimer
Michael J. Ryan
Juan A. Salinas
Timothy Schallert
Christine E. Schmidt
Eyal Seidemann
Jason B. Shear
Harvey M. Sussman
Wesley J. Thompson
Ashley James Welch
Richard E. Wilcox
Walter Wilczynski
Baxter F. Womack
Harold H. Zakon
Bing Zhang

Admission Requirements

The requirements of the Graduate School for admission into a Doctor of Philosophy degree program must be met. However, the qualifications of most admitted applicants exceed these minimum requirements. All applicants must hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, usually in biological science, chemistry, experimental psychology, kinesiology, pharmacy, zoology, or biomedical engineering. Undergraduate preparation should include one year of chemistry, one year of biology, mathematics through calculus, one semester of cell biology, and one semester of experimental psychology. However, students without some of these prerequisites may be admitted on the condition that they make up any deficiencies during the first two years of study.

Degree Requirements

Master of Arts. The master's degree student must complete thirty semester hours of coursework and must submit a thesis based on individual research. The thirty hours include the core courses in neuroscience: Neuroscience 382T, 383T, 185, 186, and a statistics course.

Doctor of Philosophy. At least eighty-one semester hours of coursework are required, including Neuroscience 382T, 383T, 185, 186, and a statistics course. One goal of this requirement is to help the student prepare for the qualifying examinations, taken in the spring of the second year.

For More Information

Campus address: Institute for Neuroscience, Pharmacy Building (PHR) 2.222A, phone (512) 471-3640, fax (512) 471-0390; campus mail code: A8000

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Institute for Neuroscience, P O Box F, Austin TX 78713-7266




Top of File     

Neuroscience Courses: NEU



Graduate Catalog
Chapter 1 - Graduate Study
Chapter 2 - Admission and Registration
Chapter 3 - Degree Requirements
Chapter 4 - Fields of Study
Chapter 5 - Members of Graduate Studies Committees
Appendix - Course Abbreviations

Related Information
Course Schedules
Academic Calendars
Office of Admissions

Office of the Registrar
University of Texas at Austin

12 August 2003. Office of the Registrar

Send comments to Official Publications