Fields of Study

    Office of the Registrar     University of Texas at Austin
    Official Publications     Catalogs
Catalog cover art



About the catalog


Officers of administration


Board of Regents


Directory of offices



Graduate Study


Admission and Registration


Degree Requirements


Fields of Study


Members of Graduate Studies Committees


of course abbreviations

Graduate Catalog | 2005-2007
College of Liberal Arts


to courses in GOV Government »

Master of Arts
Doctor of Philosophy

Facilities for Graduate Work

With more than sixty full-time or jointly appointed members, the Department of Government is one of the largest political science faculties in the country. The department houses an important research center, the Public Policy Institute. The department's research resources include excellent computer facilities and an extensive collection of machine-readable social science data.

Students in the department also take advantage of many of the University's research facilities and programs, including the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies and Centers for East Asian Studies; Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies; and Middle Eastern Studies. Many other units provide institutional support for political scientists, including the Brazil Center, the Edward A. Clark Center for Australian and New Zealand Studies, the Center for European Studies, the Center for African and African American Studies, and the South Asia Institute.

The University has one of the largest academic libraries in the United States, with many collections of value for research in government and politics; these include the Benson Latin American Collection, the Grattan collection on Australia, the Woodrow Wilson collection, the Tobenken collection on the Russian Revolution, the Jaffe collection on political radicalism, and a variety of special materials on southern and western Americana, Southwestern history and politics, India, East Asia, the Middle East, Africa, and the British Commonwealth. The library system also includes the Center for American History, the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, and the Tarlton Law Library. The Edie and Lew Wasserman Public Affairs Library contains a wide range of publications concerning public policy. The campus is the site of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum, an invaluable resource for the study of twentieth-century politics.

to top »

Areas of Study

All candidates for graduate degrees are expected to develop a broad competence in the discipline as a whole as well as expertise in specific areas. The program offers specialized instruction in the following fields: American politics, comparative politics, formal theory, international relations, methodology, political theory, and public law.

to top »

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee in the spring semester of 2004-2005.

Zoltan D. Barany
Gordon A. Bennett
Catherine Boone
David Braybrooke
Daniel M. Brinks
Jason M. Brownlee
Bruce Buchanan II
J. Budziszewski
Walter D. Burnham
Henry A. Dietz
David Van Deusen Edwards
James Enelow
Gary P. Freeman
James K. Galbraith
George Gabrilis
Terri E. Givens
Lawrence S. Graham
Kenneth F. Greene
Benjamin Gregg
Robert L. Hardgrave
Roderick P. Hart
Clement M. Henry
John C. Higley
Melvin J. Hinich
Juliet Hooker
Wendy Hunter
Gary J. Jacobsohn
Andrew J. Karch
Alan Eric Kessler
David Leal
Sanford V. Levinson
Tse-min Lin
William S. Livingston
Robert C. Luskin
Patricia Maclachlan
Raul L. Madrid
Stephen Marshall
Aloysius P. Martinich
Corrine M. McConnaughy
Eric McDaniel
Patrick J. McDonald
Robert Moser
Thomas L. Pangle
Hersel Watson Perry Jr.
Tasha S. Philpot
Scot Powe
David F. Prindle
Gretchen Ritter
Brian E. Roberts
Victoria E. Rodriguez
Elspeth D. Rostow
Thomas K. Seung
Daron Shaw
John M. Sides
Bartholomew H. Sparrow
Sean Theriault
Peter Trubowitz
Jeffrey K. Tulis
Robert Harrison Wagner
Kurt Weyland
Ismail K. White
to top »

Degree Requirements

Master of Arts. The master's degree program requires either twenty-four semester hours of coursework and Government 698, the thesis course; or thirty hours of coursework and Government 398R, the report course. At least six hours must be taken as supporting work outside the department.

Doctor of Philosophy. A doctoral degree candidate must fulfill the following general requirements: (1) complete two foundation courses in political science and more specialized coursework in two fields of study; (2) complete six hours of coursework outside the department; (3) demonstrate language proficiency or competence in quantitative research methods; (4) pass written examinations in two fields; (5) prepare and defend a dissertation proposal; and (6) write an original dissertation and successfully defend it in oral examination. Additional information on specific requirements and procedures is available from the department.

to top »

For More Information

Campus address: Burdine Hall (BUR) 536, phone (512) 471-5121, fax (512) 471-1061; campus mail code: A1800

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Graduate Program, Department of Government, 1 University Station A1800, Austin TX 78712



to top »
Graduate Catalog | 2005-2007 Government program | courses

Fields of Study

    Office of the Registrar     University of Texas at Austin copyright 2005
    Official Publications 16 Aug 2005