President's Sustainability Steering Committee

blueprint rendering


In 2007, President William Powers appointed a Sustainability Steering Committee comprised of faculty, administrators, student representatives, and other key partners as a forum for an ongoing discussion about sustainability priorities at UT Austin. The Steering Committee meets every two months as a full body and has two active sub-committees, one focused on academics and the other on operations.

PSSC Reports:

Sustainability Policies:

PSSC Membership

Name Affiliation Subcommittee
Dr. Pat  Clubb Vice President, University Operations, Co-Chair Operations
Dean Fritz Steiner Dean, School of Architecture, Co-Chair Academic
Dr. David Allen Department of Chemical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering Academic
Dr. Jay Banner ESI, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences Academic
Dr. David Eaton Natural Resource Policy Studies, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs Academic
Dr. Ofodike Ezekoye Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering Academic
Dr. Bob Harkins Campus Safety and Security, University Operations Operations
Dr. Christine Hawkes Integrative Biology, College of Natural Sciences Academic
Floyd Hoelting Division of Housing and Food Services, Student Affairs Operations
Dr. Daene McKinney Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School Academic
Dr. Steven Moore Sustainability Portfolio, School of Architecture Academic
Chris Plonsky Associate Athletic Director, Athletics Operations
Susan Rieff Executive Director, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center Academic
Dr. Bill Sage Executive Vice President & Provost, School of Law Operations
Melinda Taylor Environmental Law Center, School of Law Academic
Jim Walker Director of Sustainability  
Dr. Michael Webber Department of Mechanical Engineering Cockrell School of Engineering, Cockrell School Academic