President's Sustainability Steering Committee

blueprint rendering


In 2007, President William Powers appointed a Sustainability Steering Committee comprised of faculty, administrators, student representatives, and other key partners as a forum for an ongoing discussion about sustainability priorities at UT Austin. The Steering Committee meets regularly as a full body and has seven sub-committees: Operations, Research & Teaching, Development & Communications, Master Plan, Utilities, Financial Incentives, and Campus Culture.


Sustainability Policies:

PSSC Membership (2015)

Name Affiliation Subcommittee
Dr. Pat  Clubb Vice President, University Operations Co-Chair
Dean Fritz Steiner Dean, School of Architecture Co-Chair
Marla Martinez Financial & Campus Services, University Operations  
Dr. Jay Banner ESI, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences Research & Teaching
Dr. Tom Edgar Director, Energy Institute  
Dr. Heather Houser Department of English, College of Liberal Arts Research & Teaching
Dr. Bob Harkins Campus Safety and Security, University Operations Operations
Dr. Katherine Lieberknecht School of Architecture Research & Teaching
Jennifer Speer Division of Recreational Sports, Student Affairs Campus Culture
Chris Plonsky Intercollegiate Athletics Campus Culture
Xavier Rotnofsky Student Body President, Student Government Campus Culture
Rhonda Weldon Director of Communications, University Operations Communications
Juan Ontiveros Associate Vice President, Utilities and Facilities Management  
Dr. Bill Sage Executive Vice President & Provost, School of Law Research & Teaching
Weston Sythoff Associate Director, Development Communications
Jim Walker Director of Sustainability, University Operations Master Plan
Dr. Michael Webber Department of Mechanical Engineering Cockrell School of Engineering, Cockrell School  


Past PSSC Reports: