The University of Texas at Austin Texas Natural Science Center Non-vertebrate Paleontology Laboratory

Home-NPL | Home-TNSC



UT Geology Begins


J. A. Udden (1859-1932)

J. W. Beede (1871-1940)

E.H. Sellards (1875-1961)

C.L. Baker (1887-1979)

R. T. Hill became the first chair of the new school of Geology. The first home of this school and its' collections in about 1900 was the third floor of the Old Main Building. The building was demolished in the 1930s.

Image probably taken by W. B. Philips, courtesy Young, 1967

The collections then moved into the Will C. Hogg Building, built in 1932 to house the Department of Geological Sciences. The geological frescoes still mark the original purpose of this building.


Old Main Building about 1900
UT and Austin 1890-1895

W. C. Hogg Building in 2000
W.C. Hogg Building



Frequently used abbreviations: NPL  Non-vertebrate Paleontology Laboratory | TNSC Texas Natural Science Center | UTDGS Department of Geological Sciences | BEG  Bureau of Economic Geology | VPL Vertebrate Paleontology Laboratory | JSG  Jackson School of Geosciences | SUPPORT | VOLUNTEER | GLOSSARY

AboutNPL | History | Collections | Databases | Research | Projects | Exhibits | Links | SiteMap |

Education | Exhibits | Research and Collections
About TNSC | Visit TNSC's Texas Memorial Museum | Events | Membership | Support Us
Ask the Expert | Comment | Site Map | Web Privacy Policy | Web Accessibility | Last update: 06/28/13


Copyright ©1997–2013 Texas Natural Science Center, The University of Texas at Austin. All Rights Reserved.
2400 Trinity St Stop D1500, Austin, Texas 78712-1621 | Phone: 512-471-1604 | Fax: 512-471-4794