Technology Commercialization

The Business Productivity Subcommittee on Technology Commercialization examined how UT Austin encourages innovation as well as protects and monetizes the intellectual property developed on the campus. While the University is already among the nation’s elite in this area, the committee felt that UT Austin can raise its game to another level to spur innovation, to foster entrepreneurship, and to generate economic growth in the region as well as across the state.

Silhouettes of people at Texas Advanced Computer Center (TACC)

The Technology Commercialization Committee should assume that each of the recommendations of the Committee on Business Productivity will be implemented. The committee is charged with the responsibility to prepare a plan to implement each of the recommendations in a timeframe and manner it determines most appropriate. The plan should be organized by each specific recommendation and should include estimates of financial resources, actions and timing required to implement. The committee is encouraged to actively seek input from the campus research faculty and the Office of Technology Commercialization. Once the committee’s implementation plan is finalized it will be presented to the President for review and approval. The committee may be asked to implement the approved plan. 

The Committee will be chaired by Dr. Juan Sanchez. The work of the committee is expected to conclude and final recommendations made within six months from commencement of work.

The Committee has created three Working Groups to each focus on two recommendations:

Working Group 1

#1 – Increase the licensing volume of the Office of Technology Commercialization (OTC)
#5 – Create an Electronic Portal to enable internal and external constituencies to more easily access and navigate the University’s human and intellectual capital

Greg Fenves, Linda Hicke, Bill Williams and Dan Sharp

Working Group 2

#2 – Foster an innovative and entrepreneurial environment on campus to increase high-potential start-ups, encouraging cross pollination between colleges, students and faculty
#6 – Establish student involvement as a priority

Tom Gilligan, Bob Metcalfe, Brent Iverson, Rob Adams and Bob Peterson.

Working Group 3

#3 – Align the academic and research strengths of the University with regional industry needs
#4 – Enhance the contribution to Austin’s creative and cultural environment necessary for recruitment and retention of talent

Lynn Crismon, Isaac Barchas and Mary Beth Maddox

Committee Members

Committee Chair:

Juan Sanchez, Vice President

Dean Representatives:

Lynn Crismon
School of Pharmacy

Greg Fenves
Cockrell School of Engineering

Tom Gilligan
McCombs School of Business

Linda Hicke
College of Natural Sciences

Faculty Representatives:

Rob Adams
McCombs School of Business

Brent Iverson
College of Natural Sciences

Bob Metcalf
Cockrell School of Engineering

Bill Williams
College of Pharmacy

Staff Representatives:

Isaac Barchas
Austin Technology Incubator (ATI)

Mary Beth Maddox
Cockrell School of Engineering

Robert A. Peterson
Associate VP for Research / Professor

Dan Sharp
Office of Technology Commercialization (OTC)