The University of Texas at Austin
School of Undergraduate Studies
Skip navigation links
Academy member Fran Dorn leads a Freshman Reading Round-Up session

Academy of Distinguished Teachers

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers is emblematic of the university’s commitment to excellence in teaching. Comprising of approximately five percent of the tenured faculty in the university, the Academy provides leadership in improving the quality and depth of the undergraduate experience. Members of the Academy advise the president and provost on matters related to the university’s instructional mission; participate in seminars, colloquia, and workshops on teaching effectiveness; and serve as mentors to new faculty.

Established in February 1995, the Academy of Distinguished Teachers was one of the first associations of its kind in the nation. Each year, new members of the Academy are selected through a rigorous evaluation process. Deans of colleges and schools annually nominate faculty for membership, and a committee that includes members of the Academy, students, and other faculty review the nominations and recommend a slate of honorees to the provost, who makes the final selections. Honorees are awarded the title University Distinguished Teaching Professor and serve for the duration of their tenure at The University of Texas at Austin.

The purposes of the Academy are to

  • honor and reward excellence in teaching
  • enhance teaching effectiveness, particularly at the undergraduate level
  • create a central core of teachers who can serve as a resource and an inspiration for other teachers
  • select a body of faculty who can promote a sense of community among teachers, foster research on effective college teaching and learning, and advise the institution on teaching policies and practices


Richard Corsi, Mechele Dickerson, and John Markert were inducted into the Academy on Oct. 14, 2015. Read more about this year’s inductees.