The University of Texas at Austin
Skip navigation links

Stanfield Wins McDowell Award for Innovation

Shelby Stanfield, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Registrar at the University of Texas at Austin has been selected as the inaugural recipient of the Cale McDowell Award for Innovation in Undergraduate Studies.

Stanfield was selected by a committee of faculty, staff, students, and alumni after a campus-wide nomination process. Paul Woodruff, Dean of the School of Undergraduate Studies, presented Stanfield with the McDowell Award at a reception on Thursday, May 19, 2011.

Stanfield was cited by his nominators as a key participant in the University’s major ongoing effort to reform its undergraduate core curriculum and focus new resources on undergraduate education, as recommended by the Commission of 125 and the Task Force on Curriculum Reform. Stanfield is “one of the people who has made curriculum reform possible,” according to a nominator.

As stated by another nominator, “At countless steps along the way, Shelby has been a guiding hand, or a mediator, a necessary voice of reason, and an advocate for core curriculum reform on this campus. It is hard to think of anything we have done in regard to our central mission of revising the core that hasn’t involved Shelby or one of his staff members.”

The endowed Cale McDowell Award for Innovation in Undergraduate Studies was established by the Board of Regents of the University of Texas System on February 4, 2010 with gifts from numerous donors, including Dean Paul Woodruff, President William Powers, Jr., and other distinguished members of the University community. The award honors Cale McDowell, a member of the Task Force on Curriculum Reform, founder of the School of Undergraduate Studies, and former Deputy to the Dean responsible for curriculum reform implementation.

The purpose of the McDowell Award is to encourage research or innovation that improves the University’s core curriculum. The award may be given to a deserving staff member or administrator in the School of Undergraduate Studies, or to reward extraordinary effort by any student, faculty, or staff member toward improving the undergraduate experience at the University. The recipient of the award receives a commemorative certificate and a $1,000 honorarium.

Learn more about the McDowell Award, including next year’s nomination deadlines.