The University of Texas at Austin
School of Undergraduate Studies
Skip navigation links

Poster Design Workshops

The Office of Undergraduate Research offers three workshops for UT undergraduates to support the creation and presentation of a research poster. Undergraduate students may register for any or all of these three workshops, though they must register separately for each. OUR is not able to support graduate students at this time.

The Designing a Research Poster workshop emphasizes poster design principles; appropriate sections for a research poster; understanding your audience; and evaluating a poster. This workshop or its equivalent in your program is required for all students participating in the Longhorn Research Bazaar during Research Week

The Using PowerPoint for Research Posters workshop is a poster-oriented software tutorial for students not familiar with this design tool.

The Presenting Your Research Poster workshop offers tips on how to prepare for your poster presentation; how to describe your project to your audience; and how to handle questions.

What if I can’t attend a poster workshop? Please email us or call 512-471-7152 to set up an individual appointment.

Spring 2014 Poster Design and Presentation Workshops

Designing a Research Poster

Tuesday, February 18, 11 a.m.-noon, FAC 330 Sign up

Friday February 28, 10-11 a.m., FAC 330 Sign up

Tuesday March 4, 11 a.m.-noon, FAC 330 Sign up

Tuesday March 4, 3:30-4:30 p.m., FAC 330 Sign up

Tuesday, March 18, 2-3 p.m., FAC 330 Sign up

Wednesday, March 19, 4-5 p.m., FAC 330 Sign up

Thursday, March 20, 10-11 a.m., FAC 328 Sign up

Monday, March 24, 11 a.m.-noon, FAC 328 Sign up

Thursday, March 27, 2-3 p.m., FAC 328 Sign up

Monday, March 31, 2-3 p.m., FAC 328 Sign up

Tuesday, April 1, 11 a.m.-noon, FAC 328 Sign up

Using PowerPoint for Research Posters

Thursday, March 6, 3:30-4:30 p.m., FAC 327 Sign up

Friday, March 21, 1-2 p.m., FAC 327 Sign up

Thursday, March 27, 1-2 p.m., FAC 327 Sign up

Wednesday, April 2, 11 a.m.-noon, FAC 327 Sign up

Presenting Your Research Poster

Friday, April 4, 10-11 a.m., FAC 328 Sign up

Tuesday, April 8, 3:30-4:30 p.m., FAC 328 Sign up

Wednesday, April 9, 3-4 p.m., FAC 328 Sign up

Thursday, April 10, 10-11 a.m., FAC 328 Sign up

Blackboard

Students who attend poster design workshops will be added to the Office of Undergraduate Research Blackboard site where they can access the workshop presentation and poster templates. If you are unable to attend a workshop and would like to request access, please email us or call 512-471-7152.