Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
economics masthead
Jason Abrevaya, Chair 2225 Speedway, Stop C3100, Austin, TX 78712 • Admin: 512-471-3211 & Advising: 512-471-2973

Past Features

Each year, the Department of Economics highlights faculty, research and programs in feature stories on the university homepage. Below are the stories from the Department of Economics that have recently appeared on the homepage.


2014 Commencement Address

Keynote Speaker: Austin Ligon, co-founder and retired CEO of CarMax, delivered the 2014 Department of Economics commencement address on Saturday, May 17th.

2013 commencement

2013 Commencement Address

Mort Meyerson, CEO of 2M Companies, delivered the 2013 Department of Economics commencement address.

New Faculty Profile

New Faculty Profile

Four new faculties join the Department of Economics.

Jorge Atalla

Jorge Atalla 

Alumni Spotlight: Jorge Atalla

2011 Commencement Address

2011 Commencement Address 

Prime Minister Salam Fayyad Discusses Economics as a Way of Thinking

Image: Meet the New Economists

Meet the New Economists

The Department of Economics is pleased to welcome six new faculty members who have joined our ranks beginning Fall 2011.

Image: Texas Economics Association

Texas Economics Association

Undergraduate Student Organization Fosters Engagement, Advancement and Community Spirit

Q&A: Jason Abrevaya

Q & A with the Incoming Chairman: Jason Abrevaya’s Vision for the Economics Department

Economics Department welcomes incoming Chairman Jason Abrevaya.

Image: Beauty Pays

Beautiful People Are Happier, Economists Find

"The majority of beauty's effect on happiness works through its impact on economic outcomes."

Image: Economic Graduates Help High School Students

Economics Graduates Help High School Students

Advise TX program helps Gorge Martinez and Shirley Yang offer direction to underserved students.

Image: Senior Thesis Prize Awarded

Inaugural Winner of the Senior Thesis Prize Awarded

Audrey Straus is the inaugural recipient of the award designed to encourage undergraduate research in economics.

economics scholars program 2012

UT Students Attend Undergraduate Research Conference 

UT's Economic Scholars Program is sending 29 students to attend the largest undergraduate research conference.

bottom border