Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
geography masthead geography masthead
Sheryl L. Beach, Chair 305 E. 23rd Street • CLA 3.306 • A3100 • Austin, Tx 78712 • 512-232-1595

Faculty List

Professor

Photo of Paul C. Adams

Paul C. Adams

Associate Professor - Graduate Advisor

paul.adams@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1599  |  CLA 3.410

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests

  Place Images in the Media, Technologically-Mediated Gathering, Topologies of Communication, Geopolitical Discourses, Formation of Subjectivity

Photo of Eugenio Arima

Eugenio Arima

Assistant Professor

arima@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0714  |  CLA 3.416

Education   

Ph.D., Michigan State University

Interests

  Human-environment interactions, land change science, GIS/Science, applied quantitative methods, Latin America.

Sheryl Luzzadder Beach

Chair

slbeach@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.718

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minneapolis- Minnesota
Photo of Karl W. Butzer

Karl W. Butzer

Professor - Raymond C. Dickson Centennial Professor of Liberal Arts

karl.butzer@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.328.3255  |  CLA 3.702

Education   

D.Sc., Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

Interests

  Geo-archaeology, ethnicity and place, sustainability, Colonial Mexico, Africa

Photo of Kelley A. Crews

Kelley A. Crews

Associate Professor

kelley@utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.424

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina

Interests

  Spatio-temporal Scaling of Landscape Change Dynamics and Dynamism, Resilience and Vulnerability of Socio-Ecological Systems in Developing States, and Ecologies of Global Health

Photo of William E. Doolittle

William E. Doolittle

Professor - Erich W. Zimmermann Regents Professor in Geography

dolitl@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.704

Education   

Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
Photo of Gregory W. Knapp

Gregory W. Knapp

Associate Professor - Chair of the Undergraduate Committee

gwk@utexas.edu  |  512.232.1588  |  CLA 3.712

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison

Interests

  Cultural and Political Ecology, Food and Farming, Latin America (especially Andes)

Photo of Edgardo M. Latrubesse

Edgardo M. Latrubesse

Professor

latrubesse@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.418

Education   

Ph.D., National University of San Luis, Argentina

Interests

  Fluvial Geomorphology, Latin America, mega-geomorphology, paleogeography, river management

Photo of Jennifer A. Miller

Jennifer A. Miller

Associate Professor and Director of GIScience Center, Associated Faculty, Division of Statistics and Scientific Computing

jennifer.miller@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1587 (prefer contact through email)  |  CLA 3.428

Education   

Ph.D., San Diego State University/UC-Santa Barbara

Interests

  GIScience, Environmental/Ecological Modeling, Spatial analysis, Biogeography

Photo of Francisco L. Pérez

Francisco L. Pérez

Professor - Director of Soils Laboratory

makena@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.232.1582  |  CLA 3.708

Education   

Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley

Interests

  Mountain Geoecology, Geomorphology, Vegetation Ecology, Soils

Photo of Carlos E. Ramos Scharrón

Carlos E. Ramos Scharrón

Assistant Professor

cramos@austin.utexas.edu  |  512/232-2067  |  CLA 3.406

Education   

Ph.D., Colorado State University

Interests

  Hydro-geomorphology; terrestrial carbon and sediment budgets; watershed analyses; land use change

Photo of Rebecca M. Torres

Rebecca M. Torres

Associate Professor

rebecca.torres@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.426

Education   

Ph.D., University of California at Davis

Interests

  Migration, Rural Development, Agriculture, Gender, Tourism, Activist Scholarship

Photo of Kenneth R. Young

Kenneth R. Young

Professor

kryoung@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8311  |  CLA 3.422

Education   

Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder

Interests

  Biogeography; Landscape Ecology; Climate Change; Sustainability; Tropical Environments

Photo of Leo E. Zonn

Leo E. Zonn

Professor

zonn@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1586  |  CLA 3.706

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Interests

  Representation and Media, Especially Cinema, Geographies of Popular Culture

Senior Lecturers

Photo of Troy M. Kimmel Jr.

Troy M. Kimmel Jr.

Senior Lecturer

tkimmel@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1590  |  CLA 3.412

Education   

B.S., Texas A&M University

Interests

  Broadcast meteorology; Severe/inclement weather forecasting; Aviation meteorology

Lecturers

Photo of Erick Akins

Erick Akins

Lecturer

eakins@alamo.edu  |  471-5116

Interests

  Non-Profit Management; Grant Research, Development and Writing; Grant Management; Policy Development and Community Development

Photo of Jules R. Elkins

Jules R. Elkins

Lecturer

jules@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley
Photo of Rich Heyman

Rich Heyman

Lecturer

heyman@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.404

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington

Interests

  Cultural Geography, Urban Geography, Critical Theory and Marxism, History of Geography, Pedagogy, Public Space

Photo of Donald J. Huebner

Donald J. Huebner

Lecturer

djhuebner@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  American Southwest, Desert and Mountain Environments, Coastal Environments, Surveying, GIS

Photo of Bella B. Jordan

Bella B. Jordan

Lecturer

belka@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9127  |   Department of Slavic Languages and Literature, BUR 470

Education   

Ph.D., UT Austin

Thoralf Meyer

Lecturer

meyer@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.402, also SAC 4.160

Education   

PhD can, University of Virginia
Photo of Mark Simmons

Mark Simmons

Lecturer

msimmons@wildflower.org  |  232-0125  |  Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 4801 La Crosse Ave

Education   

Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Interests

  Landscape Ecology

Photo of Eliot M Tretter

Eliot M Tretter

Lecturer

etretter@mail.utexas.edu  |  H: 512-524-5781 W: 512-471-5116

Education   

Ph.D., John Hopkins University

Interests

  I am presently writing a manuscript about the history and geography of Austin. I have an article on race and memory appearing in Professional Geography, and others in Antipode and the Journal of Urban Affairs. My research interests include the political economy of culture, the politics of urban renewal, the history of geographic thought, racism, social theory, scale, and sustainability and I have a regional specialty in both Northern Europe and the Southern United States.

Research Fellows

Photo of Samia Aquino da Silva

Samia Aquino da Silva

Lab Tech II

samia@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1596  |  CLA 3.510

Education   

PhD, Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brasil

Interests

  Fluvial Geomorphology, Environmental Dynamics, Amazon Fluvial Basin

Photo of Elisabeth K Butzer

Elisabeth K Butzer

Research Fellow

Photo of David Guillet

David Guillet

Research Fellow

Education   

Ph.D. Anthropolgy, University of Texas
Photo of Blanca León

Blanca León

Research Fellow

leon@austin.utexas.edu  |  Plant Resources Center, Main Building Rm 127, 110 Inner Campus Drive Stop F0404

Education   

Ph.D., Aarhus University, Denmark

Interests

  biogeography, plant conservation

Torsten Wissmann

Research Fellow

wissmann@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz, Germany

Interests

  Social Geography. Media Geography. New Media & Sound. Identity & Space. Theoretical Geography. Podcasting in Higher Education.

Professor Emeriti

Photo of Alfred W. Crosby Jr.

Alfred W. Crosby Jr.

Professor Emeritus of Geography, History, and American Studies

crosby@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1961, Boston University
Photo of Robin Doughty

Robin Doughty

Professor Emeritus

rdoughty@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 3.502

Education   

Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Interests

  Cultural Geography; Environmental Resource Management; Landscape Ecology and Biogeography

Photo of Robert Holz

Robert Holz

Professor Emeritus

Photo of David Huff

David Huff

Century Club Centennial Professor Emeritus of Marketing and Geography

huff@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D, Washington, 1960
Photo of Ian Manners

Ian Manners

Professor Emeritus

imanners@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Oxford University

Affiliate Faculty

Photo of David Eaton

David Eaton

Faculty

eaton@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.8972  |  SRH 3.204

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Steven D Hoelscher

Steven D Hoelscher

Affiliated Faculty

hoelscher@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2567  |  BUR 430

Education   

Ph.D., Geography, 1995, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Dick Richardson

Dick Richardson

Faculty

d.richardson@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-4128  |  BIO 114AA

Education   

Ph.D., North Carolina State University at Raleigh, 1965
Photo of Bjorn Sletto

Bjorn Sletto

Faculty

bjorn@utexas.edu  |  512.471.5153  |  SUT 3.124B

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University

Interests

  Geographic Information Systems, Latin American planning and development, participatory planning, environmental and social justice, social theory

Photo of Frederick Steiner

Frederick Steiner

Faculty

fsteiner@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.1922  |  GOL 2.308

Education   

PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Interests

  Environmental Impact Assessment, Landscape Analysis, and Landscape Architecture Theory

Photo of Peter Ward

Peter Ward

Professor, Dept. of Sociology, LBJ School; C.B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair in US-Mexico Relations

peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471-6302  |  CLA 3.730, SRH 3.228

Education   

Ph.D., University of Liverpool
bottom border