Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
germanic masthead germanic masthead
Kit Belgum, Chair 2505 University Avenue, Burdine Hall 336, Mailcode C3300, Austin TX 78712-1802 • 512-471-4123

Graduate Student List

Matt Anderson

Graduate student

andersmo@utexas.edu  |  232-6381  |  BUR 366

Interests

  19th century German literature, historiography, nationalism and national sentiment, canonicity, collective memory, Swedish literature and culture

Steve Bartels

Graduate student, LBJ School of Public Affairs

stevebartels@utexas.edu  |  232-6381  |  BUR 362

Margo Blevins

Graduate Student

mblevins@utexas.edu  |  512-471-5603  |  BUR 374

Holly R Brining

Graduate student

h_brining@yahoo.com  |  512-471-5603  |  Burdine 374

Collin Brown

Graduate student

browncl@utexas.edu  |  232-6381  |  BUR 362

Interests

  (Old) Icelandic, langauge death/revitalization, historical linguistics, Native American languages, folklore

Devon Donohue-Bergeler

Graduate student, Foreign Language Education

devon.donohue@utexas.edu  |  471-5603  |  BUR 370

Education   

M.A. in German Studies/Culture and Communication, Technische Universit├Ąt Dresden, Germany

Interests

  foreign language acquisition in a study abroad setting, experiential learning, motivation and inter-cultural learning

Ryan Dux

Graduate student

ryandux@utexas.edu

Interests

  Syntax, Semantics, Historical Linguistics, Grammatical Change, Language Pedagogy, German-American Dialects

Matthias Fingerhuth

Graduate Student/Assistant Instructor

fingerhuth@utexas.edu  |  512-471-5603  |  BUR 370

Katrin Fuchs

Graduate Student/Assistant Instructor

k.fuchs@utexas.edu  |  512-471-5603  |  BUR 374

Maggie S Gemmell

Assistant Instructor, Ph.D. Candidate

gemmell@utexas.edu  |  (512) 471-5665  |  BUR 382

Education   

M.A. Germanic Studies - Linguistics, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Metaphor, Politeness, Lexical Semantics, Conversation Analysis, Foreign Language Pedagogy

David Huenlich

Graduate Student

david.huenlich@googlemail.com  |  512-232-6381  |  Burdine 362

T. Adams LaBorde

Graduate student

adams.laborde@gmail.com  |  512-232-6381  |  Burdine 362

Cornelia Loos

Graduate student, Department of Linguistics

cornelia.loos@utexas.edu  |  471-5603  |  BUR 370

Karin Maxey

Ph.D. Candidate

karin.maxey@utexas.edu  |  Burdine 374

Interests

  Teaching culture, content-based teaching, second language reading, literature and culture of the Weimar Republic, 20th century German literature

Morgan O'Brien

EUS TA; Graduate student, Department of Radio-Television-Film

morgancobrien@utexas.edu  |  232-6381  |  BUR 366

Jessica Plummer

PhD Candidate; Graduate Student

jeplum@utexas.edu  |  512-471-5665  |  Burdine 378

Interests

  19th- and 20th-century literature, popular literature and culture, theater, intersections of social class and literature, and German cultural history

Amanda Ziemba Randall

Ph.D. candidate; German Studies Review editorial assistant

azrandall@utexas.edu  |  512-471-5665  |  Burdine 378

Education   

M.A. in cultural anthropology, Rice University

Interests

  intellectual history, history of cultural anthropology, translation theory, 20th century German literature, foreign language pedagogy

Jason Roberts

Graduate Student

j.roberts@utexas.edu  |  512-471-5603  |  Burdine 370

Education   

M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Anke J Sanders

Graduate Student, Department of Educational Psychology

anke@utexas.edu  |  512-471-5503  |  Burdine 374

Education   

Working towards PhD in Educational Psychology, School of Education - University of Texas at Austin

Tavis Sartin

Graduate Student/Teaching Assistant

512-232-3681  |  BUR 366

Kristina Saunders

Graduate Student/Assistant Instructor

kmsaunders@utexas.edu  |  512-471-5665  |  BUR 382

Education   

MA in Second Language Acquisition, Kansas State University

Interests

  Interactional Linguistics/Conversation Analysis, Applied Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Language Pedagogy, and Historical Linguistics

Laura Snyder

Graduate Student/Assistant Instructor

512-471-5665  |  BUR 378

Annika VanNoy

Graduate student

annika.vannoy@utexas.edu  |  471-5665  |  BUR 378

Cindy Walter-Gensler

Graduate student

waltergensler@utexas.edu  |  471-5565  |  BUR 382

Education   

M. A. in Germanic Studies, University of Florida

Interests

  Feminist Theory, German Feminism, Representations of Motherhood in German Culture, Representations of State Violence

bottom border