Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
government masthead
Robert G. Moser, Chair BAT 2.116, Mailcode A1800, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-5121

Archived News

Fri, Dec 18, 2009

Dissent in the U.S. Supreme Court

Article by Government graduate student explains why justices read dissenting opinions

Tue, Dec 15, 2009

Institutions, Culture, and Women’s Representation

Research highlights tensions between ethnic minority and women’s representation

Fri, Dec 11, 2009

Jewish Terrorism in Israel

New book provides theory and history of Jewish terrorism

Tue, Dec 8, 2009

Socratic Political Philosophy in Xenophon’s Symposium

Forthcoming article addresses the “problem of Socrates”

Mon, Nov 23, 2009

The Tajik Solution: A Model for Fixing Afghanistan

George Gavrilis offers solutions for Afghanistan at ForeignAffairs.com

Mon, Nov 16, 2009

Groundbreaking Poll Finds Voters Concerned by Sources of Political Cash

Government professors conduct survey with U.S. Supreme Court on cusp of significant decision related to campaign finance

Mon, Nov 9, 2009

Comparing Issue Attention in the United States and Denmark

New article shows effect of different institutions on public policy

Fri, Nov 6, 2009

Polling Center Inaugural Election Survey

First UT/Texas Tribune Poll results available

Wed, Nov 4, 2009

International Organizations and War

Terrence Chapman’s research explains the interaction between international organizations, public approval for war, and the probability of war

Tue, Nov 3, 2009

Debating The Rhetorical Presidency

Scholars debate government professor’s landmark study of the presidency

Fri, Oct 30, 2009

The Endurance of National Constitutions

New book explains why some constitutions live and others die

Thu, Oct 29, 2009

Texas Tribune, University of Texas at Austin to Partner on Polls

Texas Tribune to sponsor five Texas Politics polls

Fri, Oct 23, 2009

Campaigning for the Economy

Government graduate student wins NSF grant

Wed, Oct 7, 2009

Inclusion and Exclusion in a Global Context

Government graduate student wins best paper award

Mon, Oct 5, 2009

Running 'Round the Ivory Tower

Terri Givens is new Inside Higher Ed columnist

Fri, Oct 2, 2009

Larry Temple Scholarships Awarded

Sophomore wins $33,000 scholarship

Wed, Sep 30, 2009

Helping Others Help Themselves

Strauss Center awards propel government seniors’ personal and career development

Tue, Sep 29, 2009

Stauffer Wins President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award

Devin Stauffer joins pedigree of department winners

Tue, Sep 29, 2009

The News in Texas (and Beyond)

New Texas Politics Speakers Series video posted

Mon, Sep 28, 2009

Brianna Becker, 1987-2009

Government and philosophy senior was emerging leader in Texas Republican Party

Fri, Sep 25, 2009

Punish and Isolate or Reform and Reintegrate?

Publication in flagship journal draws lessons from Plato for the contemporary restorative justice movement

Thu, Sep 24, 2009

Bank Pay and the Financial Crisis

Visiting scholar in Department of Government publishes op-ed in Wall Street Journal

Mon, Sep 21, 2009

New LLILAS Associate Director Named

Juliet Hooker, associate professor of government, in new leadership role at Institute of Latin American Studies

Thu, Sep 17, 2009

Ethnic Voting and Latino Representation in U.S. State Legislatures

As the number of Latino citizens in a state increases, so does the number of Latino representatives in a state's legislature

Mon, Sep 14, 2009

Pangles Head Up Core Texts Program

Government professors Thomas and Lorraine Pangle have been named co-directors of the Thomas Jefferson Center for the Study of Core Texts and Ideas

Tue, Sep 8, 2009

Campaign Talk Named Best Book of the Decade

American Political Science Association honors dean of the College of Communication and director of the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Participation

Fri, Aug 28, 2009

Bounded Rationality and the Diffusion of Revolution

Cognitive psychology guides theory of 1848 revolutionary contagion

Tue, Aug 25, 2009

Dr. Manley Elliot Banks, 1953-2009

Urban politics specialist earned his Ph.D. at UT-Austin in 1987

Mon, Aug 24, 2009

Emmette Redford: Elected APSA President 50 Years Ago

"I trust Redford's students continue to run the government, no matter what the Constitution."

Mon, Aug 17, 2009

Institutions and Public Policy in Western Europe and the United States

New research uncovers cross-national similarities in public policymaking

Fri, Aug 14, 2009

Authoritarianism in Pakistan

Zoltan Barany outlines historic roots of Pakistani authoritarianism

Fri, Aug 7, 2009

Gavrilis Takes Honorable Mention

Assistant professor's book honored by the American Political Science Association

Mon, Aug 3, 2009

Changing of the Guard at the Provost’s Office

Terri Givens' Vice Provost appointment ends, Gretchen Ritter's begins

Mon, Jul 27, 2009

The Road to Democracy

Research sheds new light on transitions to democracy

Mon, Jul 13, 2009

Brownlee, Buchanan Comment on Iranian Presidential Election

Department of Government faculty comment on the election in Iran

Thu, Jul 9, 2009

UT Poll Surveys Texans' Views on the Economy, Approval of Political Leaders, Election Match Ups, Policy Questions

Perry holds lead in primary, but many voters still undecided

Wed, Jun 17, 2009

In Memoriam: Carl Leiden and Wallace Mendelson

Memorials honor former faculty

Mon, Jun 15, 2009

NATO and Democracy in Central and East Europe

Article reflects on NATO's 60th anniversary

Fri, Jun 12, 2009

The Evolution of Punctuated Equilibrium

Second edition of agenda-setting book published

Fri, Mar 13, 2009

The Invisible Hand of Peace

Wed, Jan 28, 2009

TODAY'S NEWS

Mon, Jan 26, 2009

Graduate News

Tue, Jan 13, 2009

TODAY'S NEWS

bottom border