Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Jacqueline Jones, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

Wm. Roger Louis awarded the 2013 Benson Medal by the Royal Society of Literature

Posted: May 5, 2013
Prof. Wm. Roger Louis

Prof. Wm. Roger Louis

Professor Wm. Roger Louis, the Kerr Chair in English History and Culture and Distinguished Teaching Professor, is the recipient of the 2013 Benson Medal by the Royal Society of Literature in recognition of the enormous contribution he’s made to English literature

The Benson Medal was founded in 1916 by A.C. Benson, scholar, author and Fellow of the Society, “in respect of meritorious works in poetry, fiction, history and belles lettres”. The medal honors a whole career rather than a single work. The Royal Society of Literature, founded by George IV in 1820, celebrates and nurtures all that is best in British literature, past and present.

Louis is the Editor-in-Chief of The Oxford History of the British Empire, the former President of the American Historical Association (AHA) and the present Director of the AHA's National History Center. He is the former Chairman of the Historical Advisory Committee, U.S. Department of State.

He is the Co-Director of the Program in British Studies at the University of Texas at Austin. He was appointed to the Kluge Chair at the Library of Congress in 2010 and selected as UT’s Professor of the Year in 2009.


Go here for a complete list of past Benson Medal award recipients.

bottom border