UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
sociology masthead
Christine L. Williams, Chair CLA 3.306, Mailcode A1700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6300

Faculty List

Gender

Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

Assistant Professor, African and African Diaspora Studies Department (Affiliated)

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-5975  |  BEL241

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto
Photo of Ben Carrington

Ben Carrington

Associate Professor

bcarrington@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6341  |  CLA 3.734

Education   

Ph.D., Leeds Metropolitan University, UK

Interests

  Post/colonial Theory; Sociology of Race; Cultural Sociology; Sociology of Sport, Media and Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Masculinity and Gender Studies

Photo of Mounira Charrad

Mounira Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6311  |  CLA 3.526

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard

Interests

  Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization and Development;Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Gloria González-López

Gloria González-López

Associate Professor

gloria@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6343  |  CLA 3.504

Education   

Ph.D., University of Southern California
Photo of Susan E Marshall

Susan E Marshall

Professor

sem@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6318  |  CLA 3.522

Education   

Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Lynette Osborne

Lecturer

LOsborne@utexas.edu  |  202-716-6225  |  CLA 4.606

Education   

Ph.D., Purdue University

Interests

  Gender, Education, Women/Minorities in STEM, Deviance, Research Methods/Statistics, Evaluation Research

Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Professor

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6323  |  CLA 3.738

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6310  |  CLA 3.628

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Debra J. Umberson

Debra J. Umberson

Professor

umberson@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6330  |  CLA 2.708B

Education   

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Interests

  Gender, Relationships, Same-Sex Couples, Mental Health, Health Behavior, Social Determinants of Health, Stress

Photo of Christine L Williams

Christine L Williams

Department Chair, Professor

cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6321  |  CLA 3.722

Education   

Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley
Photo of Wei-Hsin Yu

Wei-Hsin Yu

Associate Professor

whyu@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8339  |  CLA 2.404

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
bottom border