Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
sociology masthead
Robert Crosnoe, Chair CLA 3.306, Mailcode A1700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6300

Faculty

Politics and Development

Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-4284  |  CLA 3.518

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Javier Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor

auyero@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8073  |  CLA 3.624

Education   

Ph.D., The New School for Social Research
Photo of Mounira Charrad

Mounira Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu  |  512-232-6311  |  CLA 3.526

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard

Interests

  Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Daniel Fridman

Daniel Fridman

Assistant Professor

dfridman@utexas.edu  |  512-232-4811   |  CLA 3.634

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests

  Economic Sociology; Ethnography; Sociology of Finance; Neoliberalism; Consumption; Latin America.

Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Professor

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6323  |  CLA 3.738

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Néstor P. Rodríguez

Néstor P. Rodríguez

Professor

nrodriguez@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8072  |  CLA 3.528

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Asian American Studies

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6310  |  CLA 3.628

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Alexander Weinreb

Alexander Weinreb

Associate Professor

aweinreb@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0437  |  CLA 2.620E

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests

  Social and political demography, data collection methods, sociology of Judaism

Photo of Michael P Young

Michael P Young

Associate Professor

myoung@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6331  |  CLA 3.514

Education   

Ph.D., New York University
bottom border