Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
sociology masthead
Robert Crosnoe, Chair CLA 3.306, Mailcode A1700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6300

Faculty

Theory

Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-4284  |  CLA 3.518

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Javier Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor

auyero@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8073  |  CLA 3.624

Education   

Ph.D., The New School for Social Research
Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

Assistant Professor, African and African Diaspora Studies Department (Affiliated)

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-5975  |  BEL241

Education   

Ph.D., 2007, Sociology and Equity Studies in Education, University of Toronto
Photo of Ben Carrington

Ben Carrington

Associate Professor

bcarrington@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6341  |  CLA 3.734

Education   

Ph.D., 2004, Sociology, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK

Interests

  Post/colonial Theory; Sociology of Race; Cultural Sociology; Sociology of Sport, Media and Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Masculinity and Gender Studies

Photo of Mounira Charrad

Mounira Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu  |  512-232-6311  |  CLA 3.526

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard

Interests

  Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Daniel Fridman

Daniel Fridman

Assistant Professor

dfridman@utexas.edu  |  512-232-4811   |  CLA 3.634

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests

  Economic Sociology; Ethnography; Sociology of Finance; Neoliberalism; Consumption; Latin America.

Photo of Penny A Green

Penny A Green

Senior Lecturer

pennygreen@utexas.edu  |  512-232-6306  |  CLA 3.602

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Classical Sociological and Modern Evolutionary Theory, Globalization, Widening Income Inequality

Photo of Bryan R. Roberts

Bryan R. Roberts

Professor Emeritus

brr@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6329  |  CLA 3.522

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Asian American Studies

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6310  |  CLA 3.628

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Gideon A Sjoberg

Gideon A Sjoberg

Professor Emeritus

gsjoberg@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Washington State
Photo of Christine L Williams

Christine L Williams

Professor

cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6321  |  CLA 3.608

Education   

Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley

Interests

  gender, sexuality, workplace inequality, qualitative research methods, theory

Photo of Michael P Young

Michael P Young

Associate Professor

myoung@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6331  |  CLA 3.514

Education   

Ph.D., New York University
bottom border