UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
sociology masthead
Christine L. Williams, Chair CLA 3.306, Mailcode A1700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6300

Faculty List

Theory

Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-4284  |  CLA 3.518

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Javier Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor

auyero@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8073  |  CLA 3.624

Education   

Ph.D., The New School for Social Research
Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

Assistant Professor, African and African Diaspora Studies Department (Affiliated)

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-5975  |  BEL241

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto
Photo of Ben Carrington

Ben Carrington

Associate Professor

bcarrington@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6341  |  CLA 3.734

Education   

Ph.D., Leeds Metropolitan University, UK

Interests

  Post/colonial Theory; Sociology of Race; Cultural Sociology; Sociology of Sport, Media and Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Masculinity and Gender Studies

Photo of Mounira Charrad

Mounira Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6311  |  CLA 3.526

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard

Interests

  Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization and Development;Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Daniel Fridman

Daniel Fridman

Assistant Professor

dfridman@utexas.edu  |  512-232-4811   |  CLA 3.634

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests

  Economic Sociology; Ethnography; Sociology of Finance; Neoliberalism; Consumption; Latin America.

Photo of Penny A Green

Penny A Green

Senior Lecturer

pennygreen@utexas.edu  |  512-232-6306  |  CLA 3.602

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Classical Sociological and Modern Evolutionary Theory, Globalization, Widening Income Inequality

Janice R Hullum

Lecturer

jrhullum@gmail.com  |  512-471-1533  |  CLA 4.606

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Bryan R. Roberts

Bryan R. Roberts

C.B.Smith Sr. Chair in US-Mexico Relations, Professor

brr@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6329  |  CLA 3.608

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6310  |  CLA 3.628

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Gideon A Sjoberg

Gideon A Sjoberg

Professor Emeritus

gsjoberg@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Washington State
Photo of Alexander Weinreb

Alexander Weinreb

Associate Professor

aweinreb@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0437  |  CLA 2.620E

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests

  Africa, Judaism, historical sociology

Photo of Christine L Williams

Christine L Williams

Department Chair, Professor

cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6321  |  CLA 3.722

Education   

Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley
Photo of Michael P Young

Michael P Young

Associate Professor

myoung@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6331  |  CLA 3.514

Education   

Ph.D., New York University
bottom border