Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
plan2 masthead
Michael Stoff, Director 305 East 23rd St, CLA 2.102, (G3600) Austin, TX 78712-1250 • 512-471-1442

Plan II Honors Commencement Convocation 2003

Plan II Honors Graduation Convocation Speaker:

Roger Worthington

BA, The University of Texas at Austin, Plan II Honors, 1983

JD, University of Texas Law School, 1986

Roger Worthington, Ann W & WoodruffRoger Worthington is a trial lawyer who specializes in asbestos cancer litigation with offices in Dallas and Dana Point, California. He is the founding director of the Mesothelioma Applied Research Foundation (MARF), a non-profit charity whose mission is to cure asbestos cancer. An avid cyclist, Roger is the 2002 California Road Race Champion and a bronze medalist at the Masters World Games in Melbourne, Australia. He is a proud disciple of the Church of the Spinning Wheel. He and his wife, partner and life coach Ann reside in Capistrano Beach with their son Maxwell, age 7, and daughter, Vivian Joy, age 1. In line with his firm's motto is "Go for the Gold and Give Something Back," Roger and Ann have established within Plan II an annual scholarship and an Endowed Professorship for Ecology and Evolutionary Biology in Plan II.

Plan II Honors Graduation Convocation Student Speaker:

Alexandra Chirinos, Truman Scholar

Alexandra Chirinos with Roger Worthington and Paul WoodruffAlexandra Chirinos is a Plan II, Business Honors, Finance student from Monterrey, Mexico. During her tenure at the University, she founded the Bilingual Mentoring Program and the Hispanic Scholar Chapter and was a leader in a number of other programs including the Student Volunteer Board, Leadership Board, and Student Events Board. Alexandra has been awarded the Harry S. Truman Scholarship for Public Service, the UT Parents Association Outstanding Student Award, and the U.S-Ireland Alliance George G. Mitchell Graduate Fellowship. She will spend next year studying international human rights law in Ireland before heading to Harvard Law School.

The Plan II Chad Oliver Teaching Award Presentation to 2003 Recipient, Alan Friedman, Professor of English:

The Plan II Chad Oliver Award is presented each year, at the Plan II Graduation Convocation, to a Plan II professor for excellence in teaching. The recipient is chosen entirely by a committee of students on the basis of student nominations. Formerly known as the Plan II Teaching Award, the prize was first awarded in 1990 to Chad Oliver, who was a graduate of Plan II in the Harry Ransom years and later, for many years, a much-loved professor in Social Science 301. On his retirement, students voted to name the award for him.       

Read Professor Friedman's acceptance speech (full of Plan II history)

2003 Dean's Distinguished Graduates from Plan II Honors:

Alexandra Chirinos
Stephanie Hays
Michael M. Hoffman
Mollie F. Sultenfuss
Travis Vandergriff

Plan II Marshals:

Austin Gleeson, Physics
Wendy Domjan, Psychology
bottom border