Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
plan2 masthead
Michael Stoff, Director 305 East 23rd St, CLA 2.102, (G3600) Austin, TX 78712-1250 • 512-471-1442

Plan II Honors Commencement Convocation 2005

Plan II Honors Graduation Convocation Speaker, Shola Lynch:Shola Lynch, Alumna

Shola Lynch, Plan II Honors '92, has been awarded a 2005 Outstanding Young Texas Ex Award. Shola is a documentary filmmaker/director and producer in New York City.

This award has been presented annually, since 1980, to four alumni under the age of 40 who have excelled in their chosen fields of endeavor and have shown loyalty to the University of Texas. We are proud of their accomplishments and the reflection they bring to our University and to Plan II Honors.

Outstanding Young Texas Ex Award recipients will be recognized and presented their awards at a reception in their honor on May 21, 2005 in conjunction with the University's Spring Commencement ceremonies. The awards will be presented by University of Texas president Larry Faulkner and Texas Exes' president, Hector De Leon. Award recipients will be seated with other honored guests as part of the platform party and introduced at the University's 121st Commencement on Saturday evening, May 21, 2005.

Plan II Honors Graduation Convocation Student Speaker, Melisa Gerecci:

Melisa Gerecci & Kinky FriedmanMelisa was awarded a Beinecke Scholarship in April 2004. A Houston native, Melisa spent the summer of 2003 as a European Curatorial Intern at Houston’s Museum of Fine Arts which she says confirmed museum work as her future career field. Melisa plans to pursue a doctorate in art history. She sees a career as a curator or art educator as an opportunity to influence young people who might not regularly interact with the museum world. She hope to be a scholar and authority fully engaged in the world of academic research, as well as a creator of programs and services.

The 2004/2005 Plan II Chad Oliver Teaching Award will be presented to Tom Palaima, Classics:

The Chad Oliver Award is presented each year to a Plan II professor for excellence in teaching. The recipient is chosen entirely by a committee of students on the basis of student nominations. Formerly known as the Plan II Teaching Award, the prize was first awarded in 1990 to Chad Oliver, who was a graduate of Plan II in the Harry Ransom years and later, for many years, a much-loved professor in Social Science 301. On his retirement, students voted to name the award for him.

Tom Palaima & friend

Thomas Palaima, the 2005 Chad Oliver Teacher Award recipient, is the Raymond F. Dickson Centennial Professor in the Department of Classics. Professor Palaima also directs the Program in Aegean Scripts and Prehistory. He has written and edited numerous books, articles, and many reviews, newspaper op-ed pieces and radio addresses. His previous honors and awards include the Texas Exes Jean Holloway Award for Excellence in Teaching 2004 and the MacArthur Fellowship (1985-1990). Professor Palaima has taught the Plan II Honors World Literature class to Plan II first-years. He has also conducted a Plan II Honors junior seminars: "Myths of War and Violence in Societies Ancient and Modern" and "Reconstructing Ancient Religion."

May 2005 Plan II Honors students who are Dean's Distinguished Graduates,College of Liberal Arts:

William Bridges
Melisa Gerecci
Amber Holloway
Vincent Kuo
David Mandel-Anthony
Randal McDonald
Rebecca Teng
Julie Wimmer

(8 of the 12 graduating seniors recognized as distinguished graduates by the College of Liberal Arts are Plan II Honors students. )

Shola Lynch, Tom Palaima and Melisa Gerecci   Shola Lynch, Tom Palaima and Melisa Gerecci

   Mariachi Garibay  Mariachi Garibay

     (almost) Plan II Graduates--lining up pre-convocation 

(almost) graduates--lining up pre-convocation    



05 Plan II Advisers: Cindy Wilson and Laura Neumeyer with Rebecca Reice, Plan II graduate

2005 Plan II Advisers:  Cindy Wilson (l) and Laura Neumeyer (r) with Plan II graduate, Rebecca Reice

bottom border