Header with Utility Navigation and Search Source

CCRT Campus Climate Response Team

About CCRT

In the spring 2011 semester President William Powers Jr. requested that Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, vice president for diversity and community engagement, establish the Campus Climate Response Team (CCRT). The CCRT serves as a university-wide strategy resource team that develops and facilitates the implementation of appropriate responses to campus climate incidents impacting the UT Austin community. The team reports to the Office of the Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement and is jointly coordinated through the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement and the Division of Student Affairs. The core functions of the CCRT include:

  • Gathering information and managing the specific incident
  • Supporting individuals involved, including both those targeted by the incident and those who initiated the incident
  • Providing appropriate and effective education
  • Identifying and connecting with appropriate support services
  • Evaluating the response process post incident
  • Coordinating, when appropriate, activities with other campus-wide entities, especially those involved with crisis management

In addition, through the work of the CCRT, potential gaps in UT Austin policies and procedures that may impede the university's ability to minimize campus climate incidents may be addressed, increasing the likelihood of creating a more welcoming and inclusive environment.



Membership of the core team includes representatives from the Division of Student Affairs, Division of Diversity and Community Engagement, and the Division of University Operations. Depending upon the campus climate incident, representatives from other university offices and departments, as well as the Austin community, may be included in the process of resolving a particular incident.

Lead Team Members

  • Dr. Denny Bubrig, Associate Dean of Students, Office of the Dean of Students
  • * Dr. Ryan Miller, Director, Office for Inclusion and Equity
  • Ixchel Rosal, Executive Director, Student Diversity Initiatives
  • Dr. Audrey Sorrells, Associate Dean of Students, Office of the Dean of Students
  • Dr. Betty Jeanne Taylor, Assistant Vice President, Office for Inclusion and Equity

CCRT Members

  • Dr. Teri Albrecht, International Student and Scholar Services
  • Leslie Blair, Division of Diversity and Community Engagement Communications
  • Brooke Bulow, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Brandelyn Franks Flunder, Student Diversity Initiatives
  • Dr. Mona Ghosheh, Counseling and Mental Health Center
  • Gonzalo Gonzalez, UT Police Department
  • Justin Jaskowiak, Division of Housing and Food Service
  • Lauren Kinast, Services for Students with Disabilities
  • Daniel Oppenheimer, Hogg Foundation for Mental Health
  • Dr. Stella Smith, Academic Diversity Initiatives and Student Engagement

*Dr. Miller serves as CCRT convener and liaison to Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement

Anyone encountering a situation that requires immediate police, medical, psychological or other emergency services should call 911 or the University of Texas Police Department (UTPD) at 512-471-4441 for assistance, during regular business hours and during the evening, weekends and holidays.