College of Fine Arts Experts


Anthony  Alofsin

Anthony Alofsin

Professor, School of Architecture
alofsin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7803

Expertise: Modern architecture; history of architecture; history of art; Frank Lloyd Wright

Charles O Anderson

Charles O Anderson

Associate Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
charles.o.anderson@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: African Diaspora and African American (Black) vernacular and concert dance history, Black dance aesthetics, Afrocentric dance pedagogy, choreography and dance composition, contemporary dance, Afrofuturism, critical race theory in dance

Andree H Bober

Andree H Bober

Program Director, Landmarks, College of Fine Arts
abober@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 4315

Expertise: art museums, museum administration, arts administration, museum directorship, museum studies, contemporary art, public art, art in public spaces, collections, collections management, UT special collections

Charlotte  Canning

Charlotte Canning

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
charlottecanning@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5793

Expertise: US theatre history, Broadway, Arthur Miller, Tennessee Williams, historiography, feminist theatre, theatre and American society, historical entertainment industry.

Kate Catterall

Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
katecat@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0902

Expertise: History and theory of design; furniture and product design

Michael J Charlesworth

Michael J Charlesworth

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
mick@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2345

Expertise: History of landscape gardens, Nineteenth Century European Art, History of Photography, Life and works of Derek Jarman

John R Clarke

John R Clarke

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
j.clarke@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2355

Expertise: Ancient Greek and Roman art and architecture; classical archaeology; digital modeling; contemporary art and criticism; gender studies; art-historical methodology; cultural studies

Robert A Desimone

Robert A Desimone

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
rdesimone@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9408, +1 512 471 7764

Expertise: Stage director, opera, musical theater; opera coach; conductor

Steven  Dietz

Steven Dietz

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
sjdietz@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5311

Expertise: Playwriting, Directing, New Play Development, Adaptation, Theatre for Youth

Robert A Duke

Robert A Duke

Professor and University Distinguished Teaching Professor, Elizabeth Shatto Massey Distinguished Fellow in Teacher Education, Director of the Center for Music Learning, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
bobduke@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0972

Expertise: Human learning and behavior; procedural memory consolidation; skill learning

Jeff W Ellinger

Jeff W Ellinger

Lighting Supervisor, Texas Performing Arts, College of Fine Arts
jellinger@texasperformingarts.org
+1 512 471 0675

Expertise: stage lighting specialist

Veit F Erlmann

Veit F Erlmann

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
erlmann@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2092

Expertise: Ethnomusicology; African culture

Carma R Gorman

Carma R Gorman

Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
cgorman@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0901, +1 512 471 3382

Expertise: History of American industrial design; US intellectual property law pertaining to design; evaluation/criticism of design; Henry Sargent (1770-1845).

Julia E Guernsey

Julia E Guernsey

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
j.guernsey@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5850, +1 512 471 7757

Expertise: Middle and Late Preclassic Ancient Mesoamerica art, Ixapan style art, monumental stone sculpture, themes, forms, iconography, ritual associations.

Linda D Henderson

Linda D Henderson

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
dnehl@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2474

Expertise: 20th-century European and American art to 1950; the relation of art to science and technology (particularly in the first half of the 20th century); modernism in its cultural context, including science and occultism; Marcel Duchamp; the "fourth dimension" in 20th-century culture

Martha F Hilley

Martha F Hilley

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
mfhilley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0751

Expertise: Group piano; piano pedagogy; career goals and management; dedicated web sites created for both non-music major and music major group piano classes.

Richard M Isackes

Richard M Isackes

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
isackes@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1914

Expertise: Scenery design for the theatre; production design for performance; theatre semeotics

Judith A Jellison

Judith A Jellison

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
jjellison@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7764, +1 512 471 0743

Expertise: Elementary music education; music and children with disabilities; observation and evaluation in classroom/rehearsals; music in special education and therapy

Coleman A Jennings

Coleman A Jennings

Professor Emeritus/Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
coleman.a.jennings@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5324

Expertise: drama and theatre for children and youth, liaison with New York creative teams in developmental of Broadway musicals

Janice  Leoshko

Janice Leoshko

Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
jleoshko@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2581

Expertise: Asian art history; Asian culture; Indian and Tibetan religions, Arts & Humanities.

Brian D Lewis

Brian D Lewis

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
blviolin@aol.com

Expertise: Violin

Amarante L Lucero

Amarante L Lucero

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
alucero@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Automated Lighting, Digital Lighting, Lighting Design, Performing Arts of Costa Rica, New Technology for the Arts (in Lighting)

Lawrence D McFarland

Lawrence D McFarland

Professor Emeritus, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
l_mcfarland@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0911, +1 512 471 1742

Expertise: Photography

Jeffrey L Meikle

Jeffrey L Meikle

Professor, Department of American Studies, College of Liberal Arts
meikle@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2166, +1 512 471 7277

Expertise: 20th century U.S. cultural history; history of design; history of technology; history of plastics; history of architecture; Arts & Humanities

Susan E Mickey

Susan E Mickey

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
msmickey@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5323

Expertise: Costume Design for Theatre, television and Film, Costume History, Professional Career Planning

Michael J Mogavero

Michael J Mogavero

Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
mogavero@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1852

Expertise: Painting; drawing

Robin D Moore

Robin D Moore

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
robin.moore@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0373, +1 512 471 7764

Expertise: His principal research interests include music, nationalism and socialism, historical ethnomusicology,music and race relations,popular music and socialist art aesthetics.

Francie Ostrower

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
fostrower@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5342

Expertise: Non-Profit Management and Governance Non-Profit Management, Philanthrophy

Bogdan P Perzynski

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
ifzecer@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0903

Expertise: Time-based art; integrated media; installation art; time-based installation art; painting; drawing; sculpture and sculptural installation; Arts & Humanities.

Robert N Schmidt

Robert N Schmidt

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
r.n.schmidt@me.com
+1 512 471 5793

Expertise: Theatrical design; scenic design; theatre design pedagogy

Yacov  Sharir

Yacov Sharir

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
sharir@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5333

Expertise: All dance-related activities; virtual reality; computer animation; choreography; 3D modeling; new media

Richard A Shiff

Richard A Shiff

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
rshiff@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7547, +1 512 471 7757

Expertise: History of art 19th and 20th centuries, art theory, criticism

Jeffrey C Smith

Jeffrey C Smith

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
chipps@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2609

Expertise: Art history; culture of Northern Europe 1350-1700, Arts & Humanities.

Dan E Welcher

Dan E Welcher

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
dwelcher1@me.com
+1 512 471 0943

Expertise: Music composition, Arts & Humanities.

Darlene C Wiley

Darlene C Wiley

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
dwiley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7764

Expertise: Voice; German; vocal pedagogy, Arts & Humanities.

Holly A Williams

Holly A Williams

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
hwdnce@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5330, +1 512 471 5793

Expertise: Dance in Higher Education, Dance Training, Contemporary Choreography, Dance Criticism, American College Dance Festival Association, Mark Morris Dance Group

Lyn C Wiltshire

Lyn C Wiltshire

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
lynw@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5331, +1 512 471 5793

Suzan L Zeder

Suzan L Zeder

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
suzanzeder@gmail.com
+1 512 471 5793

Expertise: Playwriting; dramaturgy; children's theatre