Office of the Vice President for Research Experts


Ivo M Babuska

Ivo M Babuska

Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
babuska@ices.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2156

Expertise: Numerical methods for the solution of partial differential equations; Computational mechanics; Finite element methods; Theory of partial differential equations

Chandrajit L Bajaj

Chandrajit L Bajaj

Professor of Computer Science, Department of Computer Science, College of Natural Sciences
bajaj@cs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8870, +1 512 471 5133

Expertise: Image Processing, Computer Graphics, Geometric Modeling, Computational Biology & Bioinformatics, Data Analysis & Visualization

Kathleen S Barber

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
sbarber@identity.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6152

Expertise: Software engineering, design and architectures; Distributed artificial intelligence; Information assurance, trust and security; Multi-agent systems

Isaac D Barchas

Associate Director, Austin Technology Incubator, IC2 Institute
ibarchas@ati.utexas.edu
+1 512 305 0048, +1 512 305 0000

Jeffrey K Bennighof

Jeffrey K Bennighof

Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
bennighof@mail.utexas.edu
512 471 4709

Expertise: Computation in Structural Dynamics; Noise and Vibration Analysis of Vehicles; Minimum Time Control of Structures

James C Browne

Professor Emeritus, Department of Computer Science, College of Natural Sciences
browne@cs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9579

Expertise: Parallel programming; high level specification languages; parallel adaptive computation; composite methods; associative communications

Sidney D Burback

Director, Global Communication Group, IC2 Institute
sid@ic2.utexas.edu
+1 512 305 0039, +1 512 743 1704

Expertise: Former Soviet Union; Armenia; Republic of Georgia

Craig M Chase

Craig M Chase

Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
chase@ece.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7457

Expertise: High-performance computing; On-the-fly parallelization of programs; Programming languages

John A Daly

John A Daly

Professor, Department of Communication Studies, College of Communication
daly@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1948, +1 512 471 5251

Expertise: Communication effectiveness; customer service and loyalty; advocacy (persuasion and influence); presentation skills; leadership and teamwork; crisis communication

David J Eaton

David J Eaton

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
eaton@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8972, +1 512 471 8959

Expertise: Eaton has written on rural water supply, international water resource conflicts, energy management, environmental problems of industries, management of emergency medical services, applications of mathematical programming to resource problems, insurance, and agriculture. His research focuses on sustainable development in international river basins, evaluation of energy and water conservation programs, and prevention of pollution. Eaton's current research concerns U.S.-Mexico environmental cooperation, new methods for evaluation of air pollution emissions, joint management by Palestinians and Israelis of shared groundwater, and water conservation in Texas.

Elsie L Echeverri

Elsie L Echeverri

Senior Research Scientist, IC2 Institute
e.carroll@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7811

Expertise: Mexico; Economics--Trade Latin America Economic Integration Wage Inequalities High-technology clusters; Gender Issues--Women in business

Victor L Eijkhout

Victor L Eijkhout

Research Scientist, Texas Advanced Computing Center
eijkhout@tacc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5809

Expertise: Numerical Linear Algebra; Parallel processing; Performance optimization; Machine learning; Component software

Andrew  Ellington

Andrew Ellington

Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences, College of Natural Sciences
ellingtonlab@gmail.com
+1 512 232 3424, +1 512 471 6445

Expertise: Directed evolution; ribozymes; biotechnology; chemical and biological warfare detection

Brian L Evans

Brian L Evans

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
bevans@ece.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1457

Expertise: Digital signal processing; Image processing; Communication systems; Electronic design automation

Ofodike A Ezekoye

Ofodike A Ezekoye

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
dezekoye@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3085

Expertise: Jet flames; Aerosols; Fire dynamics; Flame Ignition

Kelly P Gaither

Kelly P Gaither

Senior Research Scientist, Texas Advanced Computing Center
kelly@tacc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8957

Expertise: Scientific visualization; Feature detection; Illumination techniques; Visualization techniques; Visualization applications

Omar  Ghattas

Omar Ghattas

Professor and John A. and Katherine G. Jackson Chair in Computational Geosciences, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
omar@ices.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4304

Expertise: Computational geoscience and engineering, simulation and optimization of complex solid, fluid, and biomechanical systems, inverse problems, optimal design, and optimal control

David V Gibson

Senior Research Scientist, IC2 Institute
davidg@icc.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8941, +1 512 475 8901

Expertise: Texas border region; South America; Caribbean; Australia; entrepreneurship research and education

Mark F Hamilton

Mark F Hamilton

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
hamilton@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3055

Expertise: Nonlinear propagation of ultrasound in tissue; Biophysical responses to underwater sound; Acoustic cavitation in shock wave lithotripsy; Micro-electro-mechanical systems-based parametric acoustic arrays

Robert E Hebner

Robert E Hebner

Research Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
r.hebner@cem.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1628

Expertise: Microgrid performance; electrical process in algal biofuels production; electrical insulation; Electricity generation and storage; space power; electric energy; standards; technology policy; university-industry-government collaboration in technology; technology and economic development; electric guns; hybrid electric vehicles; electric locomotives; flywheel batteries; electric generators and motors; high voltage; environment & earth science.

Sheldon  Landsberger

Sheldon Landsberger

Professor and Hayden Head Centennial Professorship, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
s.landsberger@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2467

Expertise: Radioactive and solid waste management; Low-level counting of natural radioactivity; Compton suppression gamma-ray spectrometry; Risk assessment in radioactivity handling

Hans M Mark

Hans M Mark

Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
hmark@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1486, +1 512 835 3414

Expertise: Tilt-rotor Aircraft Applications; Hypervelocity Impact Physics; Prevention of Nuclear Weapons Proliferation

Arthur B Markman

Arthur B Markman

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
markman@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4645

Expertise: Learning; Performance under pressure; Effects of incentives on performance and learning; Decision making; Analyzing similarity

Robert M Metcalfe

Robert M Metcalfe

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
bob.metcalfe@utexas.edu
+1 857 891 1252

Expertise: Innovation; The Network Effect; Internet Protocols; Distributed Algorithms; Network Operating Systems; Local-Area Networks; Modeling and Simulation

Steven P Nichols

Steven P Nichols

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
s.nichols@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3565

Expertise: Product development and technology commercialization; Entrepreneurial development of students; Engineering professional responsibility; Engineering design and engineering design education

J T Oden

J T Oden

Professor and Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering No. 2, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
oden@ices.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3312

Expertise: Finite element and computational methods and computational methods that can be applied to multiple physical phenomena and applications including energy, via subsurface fluid flow of oil, gas, and CO2 storage.

Juan M Sanchez

Juan M Sanchez

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
jsanchez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2877

Expertise: Computation and modeling of phase diagrams; Magnetic alloys and multilayers; Electronic and thermodynamic properties of materials

Carolyn C Seepersad

Carolyn C Seepersad

Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
ccseepersad@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1985

Expertise: Multiscale and multidisciplinary product and materials design; Cellular (honeycomb) materials design; Design for solid freeform fabrication; Product flexibility

Byron D Tapley

Byron D Tapley

Professor and Clare Cockrell Williams Centennial Chair in Engineering, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
tapley@csr.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5573

Expertise: Orbital Mechanics; Satellite Orbit Determination; Earth Satellite Applications

Delbert  Tesar

Delbert Tesar

Professor and Carol Cockrell Curran Chair in Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
tesar@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3039, +1 512 471 6827

Expertise: Robotics, electro-mechanical actuators, embedded intelligence; Open architecture vehicles, ships, aircraft, machinery for manufacturing; Human rehabilitation systems; Long duration lunar base habitat operation

Sriram  Vishwanath

Sriram Vishwanath

Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
sriram@ece.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1190

Expertise: Networks; Wireless systems; System security; Information theory; Resource allocation in systems; Networked control; Energy systems; Bioinformatics

Juliet E Walker

Juliet E Walker

Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
jekwalker@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5581, +1 512 471 3261

Expertise: African American history; Antebellum Slavery; Black Business History and Political Economy; Black Intellectual history; African American Women''''''''s history; Oprah Winfrey.

Yetkin  Yildirim

Yetkin Yildirim

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
yetkin@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3084, +1 512 232 3083

Expertise: Dispute resolution; new materials; material characterization; pavements, pavement preservation; transportation engineering; engineering education and online training