School of Architecture Experts

Dean J Almy
Dean J Almy
Associate Professor, School of Architecture
dja3@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9311

Expertise: Urban design, landscape architecture, Dallas Urban Laboratory

Anthony  Alofsin
Anthony Alofsin
Professor, School of Architecture
alofsin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7803

Expertise: Modern architecture; history of architecture; history of art; Frank Lloyd Wright

 
Kevin S Alter
Professor, School of Architecture
alter@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6545

Expertise: Architecture

James S Black
James S Black
Professor, School of Architecture
+1 512 471 0755

Expertise: Urban design, new urbanism, development, Austin Downtown Alliance

 
Richard L Cleary
Professor, School of Architecture
cleary@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6165

Expertise: Architectural history; architecture

Elizabeth A Danze
Elizabeth A Danze
Associate Professor, School of Architecture
edanze@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1922, +1 512 471 5152

Expertise: Contemporary architecture, equitable housing

Larry A Doll
Larry A Doll
Associate Professor, School of Architecture
l.a.doll@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0726

Expertise: 20th century European architecture; architectural theory

Michael L Garrison
Michael L Garrison
Professor, School of Architecture
mgarrison@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0185, +1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Advanced Design, environmental controls, solar design

David D Heymann
David D Heymann
Professor, School of Architecture
heymann@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4083

Expertise: Architecture, including buildings and landscapes, particularly natural landscapes.

Michael  Holleran
Michael Holleran
Associate Professor, School of Architecture
holleran@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3792

Expertise: Historic preservation, urban development, history of water, canals and ditches

Nancy P Kwallek
Nancy P Kwallek
Gene Edward Mikeska Endowed Chair for Interior Design, School of Architecture
nkwallek@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6249, +1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Interior design, human behavior and design, history and theory of design, interior environments

 
Christopher A Long
Professor, School of Architecture
chrlong@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4084

Expertise: Modern Architecture; history and theory of central European architecture; history of Central Europe; cultural history; Arts & Humanities

Juan  Miro
Juan Miro
Professor, School of Architecture
jmiro@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0182

Expertise: In his teaching, practice and research, Miro explores the role of the architectural profession in civic life, the relationship between the manmade and Nature, and the relevance of history for designers. MirĂ³ was named a Distinguished Professor by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA). He is also a member of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers of the University of Texas at Austin. Other teaching awards include the Texas Excellence in Teaching Award and the ACSA New Faculty Teaching Award.

Steven A Moore
Steven A Moore
Professor, School of Architecture
samoore@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0184

Expertise: Sustainable architecture; science and technology studies; politics of technology; philosophy of technology; history of technology

 
Danielle D Pieranunzi
Director, Sustainable Sites Initiative, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, College of Natural Sciences
dpieranunzi@wildflower.org
+1 512 232 0124

Expertise: Sustainable approaches to developing and maintaining landscapes, the Sustainable Sites Initiative, sustainable building design and construction,sustainability programs, landscape and building certification systems and performance benchmarks

 
Mark T Simmons
Research Scientist, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, College of Natural Sciences
msimmons@wildflower.org
+1 512 232 0125

Expertise: Ecology; environmental sustainability; sustainable landscape design; prescribed fire; green roofs; turfgrass; sustainable lawns; invasive species; native plants.

Lawrence W Speck
Lawrence W Speck
Professor, School of Architecture
lspeck@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0715

Expertise: Architectural design; regionalist design; design of office buildings; airport design; convention center design

Frederick R Steiner
Frederick R Steiner

fsteiner@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Ecological planning, historic preservation, environmental design, green building, regional planning

Ming  Zhang
Ming Zhang
Associate Professor, School of Architecture
zhangm@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0139

Expertise: Urban transportation planning, urban form and travel behavior, GIS applications in planning, international planning