School of Social Work Experts

Marilyn  Armour
Marilyn Armour
Professor, School of Social Work
marmour@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3197

Expertise: Restorative justice implementation and evaluation, school-to-prison pipeline, restorative dialogue, violent death, family members of homicide victims.

Noel B Busch-Armendariz
Noel B Busch-Armendariz
Professor, School of Social Work
nbusch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3470

Expertise: Violence against women and children, child sexual abuse, prostitution, human trafficking, refugees and asylum seekers, adult entertainment industry.

Namkee  Choi
Namkee Choi
Professor, School of Social Work
nchoi@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9590

Expertise: Geriatric mental health, depression treatment in aging services, social policy for older adults.

Diana M Dinitto
Diana M Dinitto
Professor, School of Social Work
ddinitto@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9227

Expertise: Chemical dependency (alcohol and drug abuse), social welfare policy, violence against women

Monica Faulkner
Monica Faulkner
Research Associate, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
mfaulkner@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child welfare, child and family policy, foster care, Latino families

Rowena  Fong
Rowena Fong
Professor, School of Social Work
rfong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1393

Expertise: Adoption, child welfare, international adoptions from China, Chinese-American children and families.

Cynthia G Franklin
Cynthia G Franklin
Professor, School of Social Work
cfranklin@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Barbara L Jones
Barbara L Jones
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
barbarajones@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 9367

Expertise: Pediatric palliative and end-of-life care, grief and loss, childhood cancer survivors, adolescent and young adult oncology, parenting interventions in pediatrics, hope and resiliency, inter-professional education, integrated behavioral health, medical ethics, international social work

Michael L Lauderdale
Michael L Lauderdale
Professor, School of Social Work
mll@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9246, +1 512 471 9831

Expertise: Organizational assessment, organizational development, survey research, community justice, criminal justice, US-Mexico relations

Jane C Maxwell
Jane C Maxwell
Senior Research Professor, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
jcmaxwell@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0610

Expertise: Substance abuse trends and patterns, U.S./Mexico border; use and abuse of methamphetamine, party drugs, methadone and other opiate drugs; impaired driving programs; and abuse of prescription drugs.

Ruth G McRoy
Ruth G McRoy
Professor Emeritus, School of Social Work
r.mcroy@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0551

Expertise: Open adoptions, outcomes for birthmothers, adoptive parents and adopted children, trans-racial adoptions, family preservation, special needs adoptions, post adoption services, female sexual abuse perpetrators, racial identity issues, adolescent pregnancy, effectiveness of residential treatment services, adoption, same-sex couples

Arthur J Schwab
Arthur J Schwab
Professor, School of Social Work
jimschwab@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9816

Expertise: child welfare, human services

Richard T Spence
Richard T Spence
Research Professor, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
rtspence@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0608, +1 512 232 0616

Expertise: Addiction research, substance abuse and treatment.

David W Springer
David W Springer
Professor, School of Social Work
dwspringer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0512, +1 512 232 7062

Expertise: Dr. Springer has conducted research funded by various sources, including the National Institute of Mental Health, the National Institute on Drug Abuse, the Hogg Foundation for Mental Health, and the RGK Foundation. His research focuses on the reform of juvenile justice systems and the delivery of community-based services with youth.

Mary M Velasquez
Mary M Velasquez
Professor, School of Social Work
velasquez@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7019

Expertise: Motivational Interviewing, evidence-based interventions, integrated behavioral health, smoking cessation, alcohol abuse, prenatal health.

Luis H Zayas
Luis H Zayas
Dean, School of Social Work
lzayas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1937

Expertise: Latino adolescents, suicide prevention, child and adolescent mental health, culturally competent interventions, immigration, minorities