Browse by Subject


Search results for keyword(s): 'family, children'

 


Gayle J Acton

Gayle J Acton

Associate Professor, School of Nursing
gacton@mail.nur.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7334, +1 512 471 9081

Expertise: adult health nursing, gerontological nursing, gerontology, meta-analysis, family caregiving for persons with dementia, theory development

Jacqueline L Angel

Jacqueline L Angel

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
jangel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2956

Expertise: Hispanic health and demographics; aging policy; social policies with respect to diversity; long-term care

Marilyn  Armour

Marilyn Armour

Professor, School of Social Work
marmour@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3197

Expertise: Restorative justice implementation and evaluation, school-to-prison pipeline, restorative dialogue, violent death, family members of homicide victims.

Lisa M Bedore

Lisa M Bedore

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, College of Communication
lbedore@mail.utexas.edu
(512) 232-5101

Expertise: Child language and phonological development; child language disorders, bilingualism, Spanish-speaking children.

Mark E Bernstein

Associate Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, College of Communication
mark.bernstein@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1553

Expertise: Speech development among deaf people; use of simultaneous communication and lexical acquisition in children

Rebecca  Bigler

Rebecca Bigler

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
rebeccabigler28@gmail.com
+1 512 471 9917

Expertise: Gender and racial attitudes; how children view the presidency; child psychology; racism and social cognition in children; stereotyping; gender role development.

Randy  Bomer

Randy Bomer

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
bomer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5182, +1 512 232 4861

Expertise: Writing; politics of literacy; sociocultural theory; curricula in reading and writing

Christopher P Brown

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
cpbrown@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2288

Expertise: Impact of policymakers' high stakes reforms on teachers; early learning standards; pre-kindergarten assessment and alignment with elementary school; teacher education; curriculum development

Sharon A Brown

Sharon A Brown

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
sabrown@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4704

Expertise: Type 2 diabetes, health promotion,self-management, health disparities, meta-analysis

Pamela S Buchanan

Pamela S Buchanan

Lecturer, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
buchanan@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9390

Expertise: adapted physical education; community collaboratives in special education; sensory and motor integration

Jerome F Bump

Jerome F Bump

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
bump@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8747

Expertise: Literature; nature writing; emotional literacy; family systems and literature; Victorian literature, especially the interaction with India; Gerard Manley Hopkins; computers and English studies, including social networking and multi-player online games

Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Professor, School of Social Work
nbusch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3470

Expertise: Violence against women and children, child sexual abuse, prostitution, human trafficking, refugees and asylum seekers, adult entertainment industry.

Cindy I Carlson

Cindy I Carlson

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
ccarlson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0276, +1 512 471 4155

Expertise: Family relations and parenting; peer social relations; family-school linkages; child and adolescent development with an emphasis on early adolescence/middle school age; ethnic differences related the above topics; the prediction of attitudes toward diversity among middle school youth.

Darla M Castelli

Darla M Castelli

Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
dcastelli@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7636

Expertise: Physical education instruction; exercise physiology; effects of physical activity and fitness on motor competency and cognitive health in children

Craig A Champlin

Professor, Department of Communication Studies, College of Communication
champlin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6345

Expertise: Hearing loss, auditory processing difficulty in children and adults

Mounira M Charrad

Mounira M Charrad

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
charrad@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6311, +1 512 232 6300

Expertise: Gender; Womens Rights; Islam and Family Law; States and Citizenship; Middle East; North Africa; political sociology; development; and comparative historical methodology

Leslie B Cohen

Leslie B Cohen

Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
cohen@psy.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0189, +1 512 471 6261

Expertise: Perception, memory, and cognition of infants; Infant development; infant cognition; infant language

Miles L Crismon

Miles L Crismon

Dean, College of Pharmacy
lynn.crismon@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3718

Expertise: Clinical psychopharmacology, mental health outcomes and medications, depression, children and depression and schizophrenia.

Elizabeth  Cullingford

Elizabeth Cullingford

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
cullingford@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4991

Expertise: Irish literature, politics and culture; Modern poetry, Women''''s Studies; Drama and Film; Shakespeare; W.B. Yeats, representations of only children, and representations of clerical child abuse.

Barbara L Davis

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, College of Communication
babs@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1929

Expertise: Speech acquisition among infants and children; speech delay in children; childhood apraxia of speech; vocal development among infants with cochlear implants.

Donna  De Cesare

Donna De Cesare

Associate Professor, School of Journalism, College of Communication
donna.decesare@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1980

Expertise: Documentary photography, video storytelling, Latin American studies: human rights and visual documentary, journalism and trauma, children at risk, child soldiers, youth gangs, visual storytelling for NGOs and non-profit sector.

Cesar  Delgado

Cesar Delgado

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
cesar_delgado@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9682

Expertise: Technology supports for science learning; science curriculum; development of a learning progression for size and scale; relationship between conceptual understanding and factual knowledge for key scientific themes

Marlene A Dixon

Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
madixon@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2116

Expertise: Youth sport participation; work-family conflict in sport organizations; study of human performance in non-profit athletic departments and other sport-related organizations

Erin E Donovan

Assistant professor, Department of Communication Studies, College of Communication
edk@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7723

Expertise: How people reveal and conceal illness, such as cancer or HIV/AIDS, among friends and family, the ways people manage information about their illness, topic avoidance as a cancer coping mechanism, health communication and psychology

Susan B Empson

Susan B Empson

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
empson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9688

Expertise: Elementary children's mathematics thinking; sociocognitive theories of learning, classroom processes; teacher development

Carlton K Erickson

Carlton K Erickson

Professor, College of Pharmacy
carl.erickson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5198

Expertise: Addiction science education, neurobiology of addiction, chemical dependency

Toni L Falbo

Toni L Falbo

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
toni@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0603, +1 512 471 8020

Expertise: At risk youth; dropping out; high schools; families; siblings; academic achievement; mental health; only-children especially in the U.S. China Korea; ethnic identity in youth

Monica Faulkner

Monica Faulkner

Research Associate, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
mfaulkner@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child welfare, child and family policy, foster care, Latino families

Sherry L Field

Sherry L Field

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
sherry_field@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3476

Expertise: Curriculum history; oral history; social studies curriculum and teaching; children?s thinking and historical thinking; teachers as school leaders; teacher preparation

Rowena  Fong

Rowena Fong

Professor, School of Social Work
rfong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1393

Expertise: Adoption, child welfare, international adoptions from China, Chinese-American children and families.

Joe L Frost

Joe L Frost

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
jfrost@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Playground design; developmentally appropriate children's play; optimum play environments

Shernaz B Garcia

Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of Special Education, College of Education
shernaz.garcia@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4161

Expertise: Bilingual special education; multicultural issues in special education; education of students who are at educational risk; prereferral intervention

Aletha C Huston

Aletha C Huston

Professor Emeritus, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
achuston@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0753

Expertise: Child Development; poverty and child policy; child care; television influences on children

Barbara F Immroth

Professor, School of Information
immroth@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3875

Expertise: Children's literature; intellectual freedom; public library service for children; school libraries

Judith A Jellison

Judith A Jellison

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
jjellison@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7764, +1 512 471 0743

Expertise: Elementary music education; music and children with disabilities; observation and evaluation in classroom/rehearsals; music in special education and therapy

Coleman A Jennings

Coleman A Jennings

Professor Emeritus/Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
coleman.a.jennings@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5324

Expertise: drama and theatre for children and youth, liaison with New York creative teams in developmental of Broadway musicals

Jody  Jensen

Jody Jensen

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
jljensen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2685

Expertise: Children''s motor skill development; children and exercise

Manuel J Justiz

Manuel J Justiz

Professor, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education
mjustiz@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7255

Expertise: Education and public policy; politics of education; equal access for minorities in education systems; Latin American programs

Karrol A Kitt

Karrol A Kitt

Associate Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
kkitt@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0809

Expertise: Personal Finance (Insurance, cash management, spending plans, financial spreadsheets, credit, financial behavior); Family Resource Management (values, standards, & goals; mananging change; decision making; organization; work at home & at the workplace)

Dorothy D Lambdin

Dorothy D Lambdin

Clinical Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
lambdin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1540

Expertise: Elementary physical education; teachers'''' careers; assessment in physical education; teachers'''' goals and intents

Ruth G McRoy

Ruth G McRoy

Professor Emeritus, School of Social Work
r.mcroy@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0551

Expertise: Open adoptions, outcomes for birthmothers, adoptive parents and adopted children, trans-racial adoptions, family preservation, special needs adoptions, post adoption services, female sexual abuse perpetrators, racial identity issues, adolescent pregnancy, effectiveness of residential treatment services, adoption, same-sex couples

Richard P Meier

Richard P Meier

Professor, Department of Linguistics, College of Liberal Arts
rmeier@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9031, +1 512 471 1701

Expertise: Child language development; sign languages; American Sign Language; acquisition of American Sign language by deaf children

Gail Minault

Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
gminault@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7214

Expertise: 19th and 20th century history of India, including religion and politics, intellectual and social history, and women''s movements.

William D Minutaglio

Clinical Professor, School of Journalism, College of Communication
bminutag@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9050

Expertise: Presidential politics, George W. Bush, the Bush family legacy, Texas politics, journalism.

Chandra L Muller

Chandra L Muller

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
cmuller@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8377

Expertise: The effects of family, community, education policy and health behaviors on education and the transition to adulthood; STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) preparation and careers

Cynthia  Osborne Blaha

Cynthia Osborne Blaha

Assistant Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
cosborne@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9808

Expertise: family demography, marriage; cohabitation, non-marital chilbearing, social policy, welfare, poverty, inequality, work/family balance, child well being

Elizabeth D Pena

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, College of Communication
lizp@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2690

Expertise: Dynamic language assessment applied to bilingual (Spanish/English) children.

Joseph E Potter

Joseph E Potter

Professor, Population Research Center, College of Liberal Arts
joe@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8341

Expertise: Reproductive health, population and development, demographic estimation, Latin America and Texas. Evaluating impact of policies and funding for family planning in Texas.

Ruthine K Raley

Ruthine K Raley

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
kelly.raley@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6333

Expertise: Children, youth, educational attainment, families, relationships, marriage, cohabitation, sexual relationships

Mark  Regnerus

Mark Regnerus

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
regnerus@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6307

Expertise: Sociology of Religion; Family; Adolescence; Sexuality; HIV/AIDS in Africa; Human Motivation

Donna L Rew

Donna L Rew

Professor, School of Nursing
ellerew@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7941, +1 512 232 7595

Expertise: Adolescent health, sexual health practices of homeless youth, sexual abuse and long-term sequelae, education for underserved populations, intuition in decision-making

John J Sampson

John J Sampson

Professor, School of Law
jsampson@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1267

Expertise: Family Law; abuse and neglect of children; child custody and support; community property; legislation; paternity; children''s rights; Texas marital relations and divorce.

Sharon L Strover

Sharon L Strover

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication
sharon.strover@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6652

Expertise: The Information Society; telecommunications policy, including telephone cable and satellite systems; international cultural policy with respect to film and television; and the digital divide.

Diane O Tyler

Diane O Tyler

Professor of Clinical Nursing, School of Nursing
dtyler@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9092

Expertise: Obesity in children, health promotion and disease prevention

Kathleen R Tyner

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication
ktyner@utexas.edu
+1 512 415 7080

Expertise: Media literacy, media education, educational technology, literacy, new media and learning, children and media, youth media.

Eric M Warr

Eric M Warr

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
mwarr@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6317

Expertise: Criminology, peer influence and social reactions to crime, fear of crime in family households

Claire E Weinstein

Claire E Weinstein

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
ceweinstein@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1375, +1 512 471 4155

Expertise: Strategic learning; learning-to-learn; student achievement and retention; higher education

Patrick P Wong

Patrick P Wong

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
patwong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8962

Expertise: social policy, family and child welfare, children services, mental health, poverty issues, housing, community development

James R Yates

James R Yates

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
yates@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8581, +1 512 471 7551

Expertise: Education leadership-special education administration; educational programing for culturally and linquistically diverse; technological forecasting; educational futures

Luis H Zayas

Luis H Zayas

Dean, School of Social Work
lzayas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1937

Expertise: Latino adolescents, suicide prevention, child and adolescent mental health, culturally competent interventions, immigration, minorities

Suzan L Zeder

Suzan L Zeder

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
suzanzeder@gmail.com
+1 512 471 5793

Expertise: Playwriting; dramaturgy; children's theatre