Browse by Subject


Search results for keyword(s): 'latin america'

 


Rosental C Alves

Rosental C Alves

Professor, School of Journalism, College of Communication
rosental.alves@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6851

Expertise: International journalism; foreign correspondence; Latin American studies; Brazilian studies; online journalism; communication; freedom of the press

Jonathan C Brown

Jonathan C Brown

Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
j.brown@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7218

Expertise: Latin American economic and labor history; the Mexican and Cuban Revolutions; Argentina; Fidel Castro

Donna  De Cesare

Donna De Cesare

Associate Professor, School of Journalism, College of Communication
donna.decesare@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1980

Expertise: Documentary photography, video storytelling, Latin American studies: human rights and visual documentary, journalism and trauma, children at risk, child soldiers, youth gangs, visual storytelling for NGOs and non-profit sector.

Mercedes L De Uriarte

Mercedes L De Uriarte

Associate Professor Emeritus, School of Journalism, College of Communication
merlyn@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1979

Expertise: Minorities and media; U.S. foreign coverage; U.S. crisis coverage of Latin America; newsroom diversity; history of U.S. press; feminism

Henry A Dietz

Henry A Dietz

Professor and University Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
h.dietz@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7209

Expertise: Latin American politics: urban poverty and politics, civil-military relations, parties and party systems, Peru

Hect  Dominguez-Ruvalcaba

Hect Dominguez-Ruvalcaba

Associate Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
ruvalcaba@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2780

Expertise: Queer Latin American Studies, Mexican representations of masculinity, gender violence at the US-Mexico border and criminal organizations in Mexico

Ariel E Dulitzky

Ariel E Dulitzky

Clinical Professor, School of Law
adulitzky@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1256

Expertise: International human rights law; Latin America.

Elsie L Echeverri

Elsie L Echeverri

Senior Research Scientist, IC2 Institute
e.carroll@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7811

Expertise: Mexico; Economics--Trade Latin America Economic Integration Wage Inequalities High-technology clusters; Gender Issues--Women in business

William L Fisher

William L Fisher

Professor and Leonidas T. Barrow Centennial Chair in Mineral Resources, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
wfisher@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5600

Expertise: Basin analysis, sequence stratigraphy, depositional systems, petroleum geology, resource assessment, energy policy

William P Glade

William P Glade

Professor Emeritus, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts
glade@eco.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3211

Expertise: Economic development in Latin America; comparative economic systems;economics of the arts and cultural policy; international cultural relations

Kenneth F Greene

Kenneth F Greene

Assistant Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
kgreene@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7206

Expertise: Mexican political parties and elections, Latin American politics, research methods, voting behavior in Mexico and Latin America, social movements, and comparative democratization

Patricia I Hansen

Patricia I Hansen

Professor, School of Law
phansen@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1321

Expertise: International trade law; North American Free Trade Agreement; business.

John C Higley

John C Higley

Professor Emeritus, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
jhigley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7236, +1 512 471 9607

Expertise: Comparative politics; Australia and New Zealand; Political elites; business, Political Sociology

Kristine L Hopkins

Kristine L Hopkins

Lecturer, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
khopkins@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8313

Expertise: Reproductive health issues in Latin America, the US-Mexico border, and Texas; impact of contraceptive availability among Mexican origin women on the US-Mexico border; teen pregnancy in Texas; overuse of cesarean section in Brazil and Mexico

Manuel J Justiz

Manuel J Justiz

Professor, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education
mjustiz@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7255

Expertise: Education and public policy; politics of education; equal access for minorities in education systems; Latin American programs

Gregory W Knapp

Gregory W Knapp

Associate Professor, Department of Geography and the Environment, College of Liberal Arts
gwk@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1588

Expertise: Cultural and Political Ecology, Historical Geography, Latin America (especially Andes)

Michael L Lauderdale

Michael L Lauderdale

Professor, School of Social Work
mll@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9246, +1 512 471 9831

Expertise: Organizational assessment, organizational development, survey research, community justice, criminal justice, US-Mexico relations

Naomi E Lindstrom

Naomi E Lindstrom

Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
lindstrom@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4936, +1 512 475 6316

Expertise: Gender and the Study of Latin American Literature, Latin American Jewish Studies, On-Line Scholarly Resources, Translation, Sociology of the Arts, Latin American narrative; Jewish studies.

Robin D Moore

Robin D Moore

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
robin.moore@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0373, +1 512 471 7764

Expertise: His principal research interests include music, nationalism and socialism, historical ethnomusicology,music and race relations,popular music and socialist art aesthetics.

Jorge R Pinon

Jorge R Pinon

Program Manager, Jackson School of Geosciences
jrpinon@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4988, +1 305 926 6910

Expertise: Latin American and Caribbean energy, Energy, energy policy, Latin America,

Joseph E Potter

Joseph E Potter

Professor, Population Research Center, College of Liberal Arts
joe@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8341

Expertise: Reproductive health, population and development, demographic estimation, Latin America and Texas. Evaluating impact of policies and funding for family planning in Texas.

Victoria E Rodriguez Ward

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
victoria@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8620

Expertise: Politics in Mexico; decentralization in Latin America; women and politics in Mexico and Latin America; gender and public policy; US policy development; theory of public policy.

Joel F Sherzer

Professor Emeritus, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
jsherzer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4206

Expertise: Linguistic anthropology sociolinguistics; ethnography of speaking; speech, play, and verbal art; native american discourse, Arts & Humanities.

Chandler W Stolp

Chandler W Stolp

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
stolp@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3200, +1 512 471 8951

Expertise: Latin American public policy; economic integration; applied statistics

Peter  Ward

Peter Ward

Professor and C.B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair in US-Mexico Relations, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6302

Expertise: Latin American urbanization, contemporary Mexican politics, community development and housing policy in developing countries, planning in Mexico City, colonia-type housing in the United States, US-Mexico relations, Governance and politics and Latin America

Kurt G Weyland

Kurt G Weyland

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
kweyland@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7253

Expertise: Democratization, market reform, social policy and policy diffusion, and populism in Latin America, social and economic policy for Latin America, especially Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Peru and Venezuela

Luis H Zayas

Luis H Zayas

Dean, School of Social Work
lzayas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1937

Expertise: Latino adolescents, suicide prevention, child and adolescent mental health, culturally competent interventions, immigration, minorities