Browse by Subject


Search results for keyword(s): 'literacy'

 


Randy  Bomer

Randy Bomer

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
bomer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5182, +1 512 232 4861

Expertise: Writing; politics of literacy; sociocultural theory; curricula in reading and writing

Jerome F Bump

Jerome F Bump

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
bump@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8747

Expertise: Literature; nature writing; emotional literacy; family systems and literature; Victorian literature, especially the interaction with India; Gerard Manley Hopkins; computers and English studies, including social networking and multi-player online games

Davida H Charney

Davida H Charney

Professor, Department of Rhetoric and Writing, College of Liberal Arts
dcharney@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8746

Expertise: Scientific writing; scientific argument; writing processes in adults; reading processes in adults; argument theory; rhetoric; composition; technical writing; proposal writing; computer manuals; usability testing; document design; empirical research methods

Jim V Hoffman

Jim V Hoffman

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
jhoffman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4041

Expertise: My interests focus on three areas: (1) Teacher preparation, (2) The classroom literacy environment, and (3) Promoting literacy achievement in developing countries. Methods: Descriptive, correlational, experimental, content analysis, program evaluation.

Elaine K Horwitz

Elaine K Horwitz

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
horwitz@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4108, +1 512 232 4080

Expertise: Foreign language anxiety; learner beliefs about language learning, language learning strategies

Michael S Mackert

Associate Professor, Department of Advertising, College of Communication
mackert@utexas.edu

Expertise: Telemedicine, health communication, health literacy and online communities.

Daron K Roberts

Daron K Roberts

Founding Director, Center for Sports Leadership and Innovation, Office of the President
daronroberts@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2320

Expertise: Roberts leads the effort at UT Austin to help young male and female athletes succeed on and off the field as responsible citizens.

Loriene  Roy

Loriene Roy

Professor, School of Information
loriene@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3959

Expertise: Library development in Native American communities; creation of virtual museums of Native American artifacts; literacy efforts in Native American communities; library collection development and evaluation; oral tradition; organizing gatherings of indigenous librarians worldwide

Kathleen R Tyner

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication
ktyner@utexas.edu
+1 512 415 7080

Expertise: Media literacy, media education, educational technology, literacy, new media and learning, children and media, youth media.

Sharon  Vaughn

Sharon Vaughn

Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
srvaughn@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2357

Expertise: Learning disabilities; reading problems; self-concept; diverse learners; inclusion practices