Browse by Subject

Search results for keyword(s): 'music'

 


Brian A Bremen
Brian A Bremen
Associate Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
bremen@uts.cc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7842, +1 512 471 4991

Expertise: 20th Century American poetry and fiction; Digital Humanities; Literary Theory; Literature and Medicine; Narrative Medicine; Bibliotherapy; Modernism; 20th Century Popular Culture; Indie Music; Standardized Testing (especially the SATs); Essay evaluation; Holistic Scoring; Admissions Essays.

Benjamin H Carrington
Benjamin H Carrington
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
bcarrington@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6341

Expertise: Race, culture and identity; music and popular culture; sport and the media; British politics

Robert A Desimone
Robert A Desimone
Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
rdesimone@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9408, +1 512 471 7764

Expertise: Stage director, opera, musical theater; opera coach; conductor

Veit F Erlmann
Veit F Erlmann
Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
erlmann@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2092

Expertise: Ethnomusicology; African culture

Samuel D Gosling
Samuel D Gosling
Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
samg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1628

Expertise: Social Media, Personality in humans and other animals, impression formation, Internet research methods.

Joshua G Gunn
Joshua G Gunn
Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies, College of Communication
josh_gunn@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3933, +1 512 471 5251

Expertise: Celebrity, popular culture, popular music, popular fads and fashion, youth cultures, UFOs, alien abduction, exorcism, demonic possession, apocalypse, Halloween, folk religion, folklore, Satanism, occult and occultism, new age, cults, psychoanalysis, psychotherapy, Freud, Jung, Lacan, scatology, ghosts, haunting, the paranormal, pseudo-science, gothic music, gothic subculture, horror film, popular television, cultural studies, rhetorical studies.

Martha F Hilley
Martha F Hilley
Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
mfhilley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0751

Expertise: Group piano; piano pedagogy; career goals and management; dedicated web sites created for both non-music major and music major group piano classes.

 
David C Hunter
Music Librarian
david.hunter@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 4475, +1 512 495 4481

Expertise: Music information; George Frideric Handel

Judith A Jellison
Judith A Jellison
Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
jjellison@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7764, +1 512 471 0743

Expertise: Elementary music education; music and children with disabilities; observation and evaluation in classroom/rehearsals; music in special education and therapy

Coleman A Jennings
Coleman A Jennings
Professor Emeritus/Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
coleman.a.jennings@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5324

Expertise: drama and theatre for children and youth, liaison with New York creative teams in developmental of Broadway musicals

 
David S Junker
lecturer, Department of Advertising, College of Communication
junker@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9466

Expertise: Public relations and strategic communications; Black Music and the media; race relations; and popular music.

Robin D Moore
Robin D Moore
Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
robin.moore@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0373, +1 512 471 7764

Expertise: His principal research interests include music, nationalism and socialism, historical ethnomusicology,music and race relations,popular music and socialist art aesthetics.

Samuel C Watkins
Samuel C Watkins
Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication
craig.watkins@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6676, +1 512 471 4071

Expertise: Race and pop culture; Youth culture; digital media and social media; hip-hop culture and music; video games; the history of Black American Cinema and the films of Spike Lee

Dan E Welcher
Dan E Welcher
Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
dwelcher1@me.com
+1 512 471 0943

Expertise: Music composition, Arts & Humanities.