First Report of Injury
You'll want to file an Employer's First Report of Injury (DWC-1 form) as soon as possible upon learning of work-related injuries or diseases. The Employer's First Report of Injury provides written notice of any potential workers' compensation claims to The University of Texas System and The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation. The injured employee's department is responsible for completing the form.
When to Complete a First Report of Injury
A First Report of Injury should ideally be completed within 24 hours, and it absolutely must be completed by the eighth day after learning of occupational injury/disease/death—failure to do so could result in a $25,000 fine.
You should complete the First Report of Injury as follows:
- For each work-related death
- For each occupational disease of which the employer has knowledge (even if there is no lost time from work)
- For each injury that results in more than one day's absence from work for the injured worker
- Whenever an on-the-job injury is reported by a university employee
How to Complete the First Report of Injury Form
You should complete and submit the first report of injury (Form DWC-1) via the internet application *WCMENU 2.0. Your department WCI representative must complete and submit the form online through this automated application.
Wondering what you should do if you don’t have access to the *WCMENU 2.0 application? Have your WCI representative complete the form for now, and learn how to gain authorization for *WCMENU for use in the future.