The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

UT Team Win Regional Championship at
2010 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition

The University of Texas School of Law brought home the championship title during the Rocky Mountain Regional rounds of the 2010 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition held in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, January 13-17, 2010.

UT Law students Robert Clopton ('11), Monica Cooper ('11), Tiffany Johnson ('10) and Kenya Wells ('10) beat St. Mary's in the final round to take the title. The Thurgood Marshall team is coached by Dwayne Smith ('08), an associate with Clark, Thomas & Winters. Smith is also one of the 2007 Thurgood Marshall regional champions.

The UT Law team will now advance to the competition's national rounds held March 10th-14th in Boston, Massachussets.

Founded in 1968, the National Black Law Students Association sponsors both the Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition and the Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition. Students from law schools across the nation compete in six regions to determine which teams will advance in each competition. The national rounds for both competitions are held in conjunction with NBLSA's Annual Convention.

For more information, please contact