The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

The University of Texas Lights Tower for National Champions

The University of Texas will light the Tower orange on Wednesday, April 20th,in honor of the 2011 John L. Costello National Criminal Law Trial Advocacy and the 2011 Uvaldo Herrera National Moot Court national championship teams. This year's wins are the 13th and 14th national championships UT Law has won in the last ten years.

Lauren Sprouse ('11), Robert Clopton ('11), Tony McDonald ('12), and Bryan Acklin ('12), beat Catholic University in the final round to win the Costello National Criminal Law Trial Advocacy championship. The Costello mock trial team is coached by Jay Adkins ('82), Assistant Attorney General in the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit, and Ciara Williams ('07) of The Law Offices of C.M. Williams. This is the first time the University of Texas has participated in the Costello competition, and the first time Adkins and Williams have coached an interscholastic team.

Anthony Arguijo ('11), Sergio Davila ('11), and Omar Ochoa ('11), beat Arizona State University in the final round to bring home the Uvaldo Herrera National Moot Court championship title. This team also won the award for best respondent's brief. The Herrera National Moot Court team is coached by Shalla Santos ('06), Staff Attorney for Justice Bob Pemberton, Third Court of Appeals. This is the second time Santos has coached the team to a national championship. As a student, Santos won a national championship in 2006 Giles Sutherland Rich Intellectual Property Moot Court competition.

This is the tenth Tower lighting held by The University in recognition of the Law School teams' outstanding academic achievements. Previous lightings were for the 1999 National Mock Trial championship team, 2000 Tournament of Champions Mock Trial national championship team, the 2002 Frederick Douglass Moot Court national championship team, the 2003, 2004 and 2005 Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court national championship teams, the 2005 ABA Arbitration competition national championship team, the 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2008 Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court national championship teams, the 2009 Hispanic National Bar Association Moot Court championship team, and the 2010 Conrad B. Duberstein National Bankruptcy Moot Court championship team.