The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

UT Law CLE Registration for Students and Recent Graduates

UT Law CLE welcomes UT Law students and recent graduates (up to one year after graduation) to attend UT Law Continuing Legal Education live conferences. Please visit the UT Law CLE site for a list of upcoming CLEs.

UT Law Student Registration

Student registration is limited and may not be available for all conferences. You must contact Justin Schaumburg, UT Law CLE, at jschaumburg@law.utexas.edu or 512-475-6700 to confirm Student Registration availability. There are two options available for students to attend.

  • Discounted Rate ($75) – attend a CLE conference and receive full registrant benefits including course materials on a USB key, meals at the conference (if offered) and complimentary 180-day access to Bonus eCourses—with papers, slides and audio—for CLE credit you may have missed at the conference. Available in your UT Law CLE online account in “Your Briefcase” 6-8 weeks after the conference.
  • Free - attend a CLE conference but will not receive registrant benefits, course materials or meals. 

If you are interested in attending a conference at either the paid or free option, Justin must register you for the conference before you can attend.  Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email.

UT Law Recent Graduate Registration

Recent graduate registration is limited and may not be available for all conferences. You must contact Justin Schaumburg, UT Law CLE, at jschaumburg@law.utexas.edu or 512-475-6700 to confirm UT Law Recent Graduate Registration availability. There is a small fee to attend as you will be able to bank your CLE credits for your MCLE compliance year.

  • Discounted Rate ($75) – attend a CLE conference and receive full registrant benefits including course materials on a USB key, meals at the conference (if offered) and complimentary 180-day access to Bonus eCourses—with papers, slides and audio—for CLE credit you may have missed at the conference. Available in your UT Law online account in “Your Briefcase” 6-8 weeks after the conference.

If you are interested in attending a conference, Justin must register you for the conference before you can attend.  Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email.

Per the State Bar of Texas’s Definition of Compliance Year, if you are a newly licensed attorney, your initial MCLE compliance year is a 24-month period. It begins on the first day of the month you were born, after the date you are licensed.  It ends two years later, on the last day of the month that immediately precedes the month you were born.

Newly licensed attorneys may also claim MCLE credit for accredited CLE completed one year prior to the beginning date of the initial compliance year.

Each attorney has an automatic grace period until the end of his or her birth month, in which to complete and report MCLE hours for that compliance year. All CLE must be completed and reported (received by the State Bar of Texas MCLE Director) by the last day of the birth month in order to avoid a non-compliance penalty fee.