The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

A Celebration of Ernest E. Smith

Fifty Years of Scholarship, Teaching, and Leadership in Oil, Gas, and Energy Law

Thursday, Sept. 19, 2013
Reception at 6:30 p.m. Dinner at 7:00 p.m.

AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center Hotel
The University of Texas at Austin

Keynote: David B. Kultgen General Counsel Saudi Aramco

Photo: Professor Ernest Smith

A Law School Legacy

Ernest Smith has been an indispensable part of the University of Texas School of Law faculty for 50 years. During his remarkable career, he has taught more than 12,000 students, making an indelible impression on them and equipping them with the interest, curiosity, and legal skills to become first-rate attorneys. Professor Smith’s scholarship, writings, teaching, mentoring, and professional contributions have had a profound influence on several generations of students and practitioners, and his courses were for many the portal to successful careers in domestic and global energy.

We invite you to attend an event honoring Professor Smith on September 19, 2013 at the AT&T Conference Center ballroom in Austin. The proceeds from the event will be used to support an endowment for energy law scholarships.

Sponsors and Supporters

Major Underwriters

  • Mr. and Mrs. John H. Massey


  • Aramco Services Company
  • Baker Botts
  • Bracewell & Giuliani
  • ConocoPhillips
  • Exxon Mobil Corporation
  • Haynes and Boone
  • Latham & Watkins
  • Norton Rose Fulbright
  • Porter Hedges
  • Scott, Douglass & McConnico
  • Sidley Austin
  • Vinson & Elkins


  • John and Dorothy Castle
  • Cotton, Bledsoe, Tighe & Dawson
  • Devon Energy
  • Mr. and Mrs. Doug Glass
  • Halliburton Energy Services
  • Hornberger Sheehan Fuller Beiter Wittenberg & Garza
  • Husch Blackwell
  • Jackson Walker
  • Kelly Hart & Hallman
  • Duke R. Ligon
  • McGinnis Lochridge
  • Oil, Gas and Energy Resources Law Section of the State Bar of Texas
  • Rash Chapman Schreiber Leaverton & Morrison
  • Stacy and Carter Smith
  • Thompson & Knight
  • Wetsel & Carmichael and Wind Tex Energy

Special Thanks To

  • Rusty Allen
  • The Honorable Valarie S. Bristol
  • Floyd Christian
  • Bernard F. Clark, Jr.
  • Kevin Cunningham
  • The Honorable Joseph Hart
  • Karen Hartmann
  • Johns, Marrs, Ellis & Hodge
  • Gary Johnson
  • David Michael Leonard
  • Ann Lisi and Joel Greene
  • Pat Long
  • Lisa B. Lumley
  • Mark McLaughlin
  • Kirby Rassenfoss
  • Robert Spellings
  • Debbie Steed
  • Patrick Swearingen
  • UT Law Continuing Legal Education
  • Marie Wagner
  • Custis Wright

Ernest and Paula Smith Scholarship Circle

The Ernest and Paula Smith Scholarship Circle is one means by which the Law School can ensure that UT Law continues to attract and educate top law students interested in energy.

Professor Smith and his wife, Paula, have given $20,000 to create an endowment that will be used to fund scholarships for students with a demonstrated interest in energy law. Help support the Smiths by attending the Smith tribute event Sept. 19, or making a direct contribution to the Ernest and Paula Smith Scholarship Circle. Proceeds from the event will be used to support the endowment.

For More Information

For more information or if you have questions, please contact:
Teri Raeke at 512-232-1221, or Gena Dawson at 512-475-9328.

Photo: Ernest and Paula Smith