News & Events Home Events Calendar


Alumni Association Honors Four

A professor, a pioneer in computer management of patient files, an emerging leader in the profession, and an oncology specialist are among the honorees in the 2009 Pharmacy Alumni Association awards program.

Honorees include

Formal presentation of the Sheffield, Legend and Distinguished Alumnus Awards will be made at the college's annual alumni meeting held in conjunction with the annual Texas Pharmacists Association meeting on July 23 in San Antonio.  The preceptor award will be presented at the Annual Preceptor Orientation and Training Conference scheduled for August 15 in San Marcos, Tx.

Dr. Robert O. Williams III, professor of pharmaceutics at UT Austin, is recipient of the William J. Sheffield Outstanding Alumnus Award.  The highest honor paid by the Pharmacy Alumni Association, the Sheffield Award is named for Dr. William Sheffield, a former faculty member and administrator.  Williams earned both his undergraduate degree (1981) and his Ph.D. (1986) from the UT College of Pharmacy.  As an undergraduate, he was enrolled in the pharmaceutics class taught by Sheffield.  Upon returning to the college to begin his academic career, he rose through the pharmaceutics division ranks and today teaches the same course once taught by Sheffield.  He directs a highly successful research program and serves as head of the Division of Pharmaceutics.  Williams has been recognized professionally by being named a fellow in both the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and in the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.  He is a former recipient of the college's Texas Excellence Teaching Award.  Williams and his wife, Jill, have funded a fellowship to support graduate students within the college.

Tim Vordenbaumen Sr., B.S. '64, is recipient of the Legend of Pharmacy Award.  A native of San Antonio, he currently serves as a vice president for government affairs for Omnicare, Inc. based in Covington, Kentucky.  Vordenbaumn, a second-generation pharmacist, began his career as an owner-operator of The Apothecary Shop, a San Antonio business founded by his father.  He established a pharmacy consultation service that provided pharmacy management services to Bexar County Mental Health and Mental Retardation Center.  The honoree pioneered applications of computer management of practice and operations and the development of a long term care specialty in pharmacy.  He is a respected leader in pharmacy having served on the Board of Directors of the Texas Pharmacy Association (TPA) and as president of both TPA and the American Pharmacist Association.  He is a member emeritus of the College of Pharmacy Advisory Council and is a former president of the Pharmacy Alumni Association.

A 2001 Pharm.D. graduate of the college, Dr. Lea Eiland is recipient of the Young Alumnus Award.  She resides in Alabama where she is an associate clinical professor within the Department of Pharmacy Practice at Auburn University's School of Pharmacy, as a clinical associate professor in the Division of Pediatrics at the University of Alabama at Birmingham's School of Medicine and as a clinical pharmacy specialist at Huntsville Hospital Women and Children.  She serves as a member of the editorial board and as a reviewer for numerous professional journals.  Eiland has held numerous leadership roles in the Alabama Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.  She is the recipient of the 2008-09 AACP Academic Leadership Fellowship and of the 2009 Pharmacist of the Year by the Alabama Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Reba Williams, the sole pharmacist at Texas Oncology Plano West, is recipient of the Arlyn Kloesel Preceptor of the Year Award.  She directs an acute care rotation in hematology and oncology, taking time to help students see patients not just as a case but also "as a fellow human being with intrinsic value, dignity and emotion."  Board certified in oncology pharmacy, her expertise covers a broad spectrum of concerns including hematology, chemotherapy and supportive care.  A pioneer in the profession, she has established medication therapy management services and a database to monitor patients' relative dose intensities.  She is known to go out of her way to provide students opportunities to expand their learning opportunities by observing radiation treatments, attend case presentations by oncology physicians, and go on intensive care rounds in the neighboring hospitals.  The award is named for longtime faculty member Kloesel, distinguished senior lecturer in the Division of Pharmacy Practice.

Last Reviewed: September 14, 2009

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z