News & Events Home Events Calendar


Burgess to Lead Pharmacotherapy Division


Dr. David S. Burgess, clinical professor of pharmacotherapy, has been named to lead the Division of Pharmacotherapy at The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy.

In his new capacity, Burgess also will serve as director of the Pharmacotherapy Education and Research Center within the School of Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. The Pharmacotherapy Division includes 11 full time faculty and 45 part-time and/or adjunct faculty and is located on the San Antonio campus.

He is recognized nationally as an expert in the field of infectious diseases. His research group focuses on understanding the mechanisms of resistance, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics and outcomes of antibacterial and antifungal pharmacotherapy. He also evaluates the outcomes of disease state management programs for infectious diseases.

His primary teaching responsibilities are in the professional and graduate program with a focus on microbiology, pharmacology of anti-infectives, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of anti-infectives and pharmacotherapeutics of infectious diseases.

He serves as a preceptor for professional students, residents, fellows and graduate students on both clinical rotations at University Hospital (San Antonio) and the infectious diseases research rotation.

Burgess has authored numerous scientific and professional articles in the area of infectious disease as well as lectured nationally and internationally concerning his research fields.

"Dave has a distinguished career as an infectious disease researcher, as an educator and as a clinician," said Crismon." am confident that he will be successful in leading an already excellent division within the college as it moves forward toward addressing new goals."

The new division head served on the board of directors for the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists, the editorial board of the Journal of Infectious Disease Pharmacotherapy, and as an infectious disease faculty member for the Texas Medical Foundation. He is a scientific reviewer for numerous pharmacy and medical journals.

He was recipient of the research award from the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists in 1995, 2003 and 2004 and was elected as a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy in 2004.

Burgess earned his bachelor of science in chemistry and biology from Murray State University in Kentucky in 1984. He received his B.S. in pharmacy from the University of Kentucky in 1987 and his Pharm.D. from the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston in 1990. In addition, he completed residencies in critical care/surgery (1991) and in infectious diseases pharmacotherapy (1994). He joined the college faculty in 1994 as an assistant professor.

Burgess replaces Dr. Robert Talbert who will remain on the pharmacotherapy faculty.

Last Reviewed: March 12, 2008

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z