News & Events Home Events Calendar



Commencement 2011

College of Pharmacy Convocation ceremony for Pharm.D. degree candidates took place Friday, May 20 in the Bass Concert Hall.

A total of 113 May graduates and three students slated for August graduation were featured.  Dr. William Sage, vice provost for health affairs, presented the keynote address.

Several students were cited for special recognition during the program.

Victoria Enwere was recognized for having the highest grade point average while Laura Porter and Derek Templet tied for second highest honors.

Outstanding research awards were presented to Benita Bamgbade, Veronica Guerra, and Ashkan Yazdi.

Awards for excellence in patient care were made to Deanna McGregor, Laura Porter, and Julieta Scalo while three other students, Samantha Alexander, Trista Askins and Bryson Duhon, were cited for dedicated service.  Leadership awards went to Whitney Brace, Tyler Mohr and Debra Ramirez.

The College of Pharmacy Alumni Association's Mortar and Pestle Award was awarded to Saadi Ali and Misbah Moten.

Officers for the 2011 class include Saadia Ali, president; Kyle Mulloy, vice president; and Kate Parker, secretary/treasurer.

Members of the Class of 2011 have pledged more than $44,000 to the college as a way to give back to the college.  Many pledged in honor or memory of a loved one.


Last Reviewed: May 24, 2011

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z